Producer
Producer
Leopold Hoesch
Editor
Genre
History
Broadcaster
WDR
Length
1 x 45'
Format
Simone Schillinger
Year
2019
UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN
Mit Nussecken zum ESC - 1998

In the ten-part series, WDR travels back to the 90s - to a time when mobile phones were still pressed to the ear as huge bones, music stations like EinsLive and Viva started and the old precinct turned into a local recreation area.

The year 1998 brought some changes: A Green police chief had to take action against opponents of nuclear power. The Kelly Family moved. And Guildo Horn brought Nussecken and the Schlager to the ESC. Guildo Horn, the "master", mobilised thousands for public viewing. With his performance at the "Grand Prix Eurovision de la Chanson", the Cologne native ushered in a new era. From the cathedral city, the Schlager hype eventually spilled over all of Germany. And everyone was in a Guildo frenzy. The Kelly Family honoured the penny. At a forced auction of Gymnich Castle, they won the bid, and patriarch Daniel Jerome Kelly put 1.3 million marks in cash on the table as a down payment, a tenth of the total price. Hubert Wimber had to deal with protest camps: Nuclear waste transports to Ahaus in Westphalia mobilised thousands of opponents of nuclear power. As Germany's first Green police chief, Wimber had to keep the opponents of nuclear power in Ahaus in Westphalia in check with several thousand police officers - much to the annoyance of some of his party friends.

OUR COUNTRY IN THE 90s - With Nussecken to the ESC - 1998

In the ten-part series, WDR travels back to the 90s - to a time when mobile phones were still pressed to the ear as huge bones, music stations like EinsLive and Viva started and the old precinct turned into a local recreation area.

More films

Produzent
Produzent
Leopold Hoesch
Producer
Simone Schillinger
Genre
Geschichte
Sender
WDR
Länge
1 x 45'
Editor
Jahr
2019
UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN
Mit Nussecken zum ESC - 1998

In der zehnteiligen Reihe reist der WDR zurück in die 90er Jahre – in eine Zeit, als Handys noch als riesige Knochen ans Ohr gepresst wurden, Musiksender wie EinsLive und Viva starteten und das alte Revier sich zum Naherholungsgebiet mauserte.

Das Jahr 1998 brachte einige Veränderungen: Ein Grüner Polizeipräsident musste gegen Atomkraft-Gegner vorgehen. Die Kelly Family zog um. Und Guildo Horn brachte Nussecken und den Schlager zum ESC. Guildo Horn, der „Meister“ mobilisierte Tausende, zum Public Viewing. Mit seinem Auftritt leitete der Wahlkölner beim „Grand Prix Eurovision de la Chanson“ ein neues Zeitalter ein. Von der Domstadt aus schwappte der Schlager-Hype schließlich über ganz Deutschland. Und alle waren im Guildo-Rausch. Die Kelly-Family ehrte den Pfennig. Bei einer Zwangsversteigerung des Schlosses Gymnich bekamen sie den Zuschlag, und Patriarch Daniel Jerome Kelly packte als Anzahlung gleich 1,3 Millionen Mark in bar auf den Tisch, ein Zehntel des Gesamtpreises. Mit Protest-Camps musste sich Hubert Wimber beschäftigen: Atommülltransporte ins westfälische Ahaus mobilisierte tausende Atomkraftgegner. Als Deutschlands erster grüner Polizeipräsident musste Wimber mit mehreren tausend Polizisten die Atomkraftgegner im westfälischen Ahaus in Schach halten – sehr zum Ärger mancher seiner Parteifreunde.

UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN – Mit Nussecken zum ESC – 1998

In der zehnteiligen Reihe reist der WDR zurück in die 90er Jahre – in eine Zeit, als Handys noch als riesige Knochen ans Ohr gepresst wurden, Musiksender wie EinsLive und Viva starteten und das alte Revier sich zum Naherholungsgebiet mauserte.

Weitere Filme