Producer
Director
Andreas Knuffmann & Peter Wolf
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Documentary
Broadcaster
ZDF
Length
1 x 45'
Editor
Year
2013
Mercedes against BMW
The Duel

They are among the most popular German brands of all: BMW and Mercedes. With a total of more than 3 million cars sold worldwide each year (BMW 1.8 million / Mercedes 1.3 million), they are not only among Germany's export hits, but also stand for German engineering with the "Made in Germany" seal of quality. But who builds the better cars? Who has the higher safety standards, who is more innovative and who has the greater cult status? ZDFzeit wants to know more and has the noble car brands compete in a duel: BMW versus Mercedes. A duel at the highest level!

The driving behaviour of the luxury class is put to the test, the mid-range is subjected to a practical test and the SUVs of both brands have to compete against each other on tough terrain. Individual tests compare the fuel consumption of the vehicles, the service provided by the authorised workshops and who builds the more valuable vehicles. In addition, Germany's best-known car spanners will be used: the Ludolf brothers. With their very own tools, they put the vehicles through their paces.

The film also takes a look at the history of both brands, from the invention of the automobile by Carl Benz to the development of the latest generation of electric vehicles. Who is more innovative these days, who is better equipped for the future? ZDFzeit finds out.

In the end, there can only be one winner. Who is Germany's No. 1 carmaker?

Mercedes against BMW - The Duel

They are among the most popular German brands of all: BMW and Mercedes. With a total of more than 3 million cars sold worldwide each year (BMW 1.8 million / Mercedes 1.3 million), they are not only among Germany's export hits, but also stand for German engineering with the "Made in Germany" seal of quality. But who builds the better cars? Who has the higher safety standards, who is more innovative and who has the greater cult status? ZDFzeit wants to know more and has the noble car brands compete in a duel: BMW versus Mercedes. A duel at the highest level!

More films

Produzent
Regie
Andreas Knuffmann & Peter Wolf
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Dokumentation
Sender
ZDF
Länge
1 x 45'
Editor
Jahr
2013
Mercedes gegen BMW
Das Duell

Sie gehören zu den beliebtesten deutschen Marken überhaupt: BMW und Mercedes. Mit zusammen weltweit über 3 Millionen verkauften Autos pro Jahr (BMW 1,8 Millionen / Mercedes 1,3 Millionen) zählen sie nicht nur zu Deutschlands Exportschlagern, sondern stehen auch für deutsche Ingenieurskunst mit dem Gütesiegel „Made in Germany“. Doch wer baut die besseren Autos? Wer hat die höheren Sicherheitsstandards, wer ist innovativer und wer hat den größeren Kultstatus? ZDFzeit will es genauer wissen und lässt die edlen Automarken zum Duell antreten: BMW gegen Mercedes. Ein Duell auf höchstem Niveau!

Auf dem Prüfstand stehen das Fahrverhalten der Oberklasse, die Mittelklasse wird einem Praxistest unterzogen und die SUV’s beider Marken müssen auf hartem Terrain gegeneinander antreten. In Einzeltests  wird verglichen inwieweit die Verbrauchswerte der Fahrzeuge stimmen, wie es um den Service der Vertragswerkstätten steht und wer die werthaltigeren Fahrzeuge baut. Außerdem greifen Deutschlands bekanntesten Autoschrauber zum Schraubenschlüssel: Die Ludolf-Brüder. Mit ihren ganz eigenen Mitteln unterziehen sie die Fahrzeuge einem Härtetest.

Der Film wirft auch einen Blick auf die Geschichte beider Marken, von der Erfindung des Automobils durch Carl Benz bis hin zur Entwicklung der neuesten Generation von Elektro-Fahrzeugen. Wer ist heutzutage innovativer, wer ist besser für die Zukunft gerüstet? ZDFzeit findet es heraus.

Am Ende kann es nur einen Sieger geben. Wer ist Deutschlands Autobauer Nr. 1?

Mercedes gegen BMW – Das Duell

Sie gehören zu den beliebtesten deutschen Marken überhaupt: BMW und Mercedes. Mit zusammen weltweit über 3 Millionen verkauften Autos pro Jahr (BMW 1,8 Millionen / Mercedes 1,3 Millionen) zählen sie nicht nur zu Deutschlands Exportschlagern, sondern stehen auch für deutsche Ingenieurskunst mit dem Gütesiegel „Made in Germany“. Doch wer baut die besseren Autos? Wer hat die höheren Sicherheitsstandards, wer ist innovativer und wer hat den größeren Kultstatus? ZDFzeit will es genauer wissen und lässt die edlen Automarken zum Duell antreten: BMW gegen Mercedes. Ein Duell auf höchstem Niveau!

Weitere Filme