Producer
Producer
Leopold Hoesch
Producer
Anna Bilger, Kathrin Schwiering
Genre
History
Broadcaster
WDR
Length
1 x 45'
Editor
Year
2019
OUR LAND IN THE 90s
At the summit - 1994

In the ten-part series, WDR travels back to the 90s - to a time when mobile phones were still pressed to the ear as huge bones, music stations like EinsLive and Viva started and the old precinct turned into a local recreation area.

At the summit in 1994, the heads of state and government of the European Union were in Essen. The EU summit threw the whole city life into turmoil for three days. Others also arrived at the top in 1994. Formula 1 driver Michael Schumacher from Kerpen won his first world championship title despite an accident. And the Kelly Family reached the peak of their fame in 1994. 1994 was also the year when the so-called "gay paragraph" 175 was overturned. Homosexuality was no longer a punishable offence. Comic artist Ralf König ("The Moving Man") and the then Minister of Justice Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger (FDP) recall this long overdue correction in German criminal law. It is no coincidence that in this social climate "The Moving Man" became the biggest German cinema success of the year. More than six million viewers wanted to see director Sönke Wortmann's gay comedy.

OUR LAND IN THE 90s - At the summit - 1994

In the ten-part series, WDR travels back to the 90s - to a time when mobile phones were still pressed to the ear as huge bones, music stations like EinsLive and Viva started and the old precinct turned into a local recreation area.

More films

Jahr
2019
Länge
1 x 45'
Genre
Geschichte
Regie
Anna Bilger, Kathrin Schwiering
Produzent
Leopold Hoesch
Sender
WDR
UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN
Auf dem Gipfel - 1994

In der zehnteiligen Reihe reist der WDR zurück in die 90er Jahre – in eine Zeit, als Handys noch als riesige Knochen ans Ohr gepresst wurden, Musiksender wie EinsLive und Viva starteten und das alte Revier sich zum Naherholungsgebiet mauserte.

Auf dem Gipfel befanden sich 1994 die Staats-und Regierungschefs der Europäischen Union in Essen. Der EU-Gipfel wirbelte drei Tage lang das ganze Stadtleben durcheinander. Auch andere kamen 1994 ganz oben an. Formel 1-Pilot Michael Schumacher aus Kerpen gewann trotz Unfall seinen ersten WM-Titel. Und die Kelly Family erreichte 1994 den Gipfel ihres Ruhms. 1994 war auch das Jahr, als der sogenannte „Schwulenparagraph“ 175 gekippt wurde. Homosexualität stand nun nicht mehr unter Strafe. Comiczeichner Ralf König („Der bewegte Mann“) und die damalige Justizministerin Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger (FDP) erinnern sich an diese längst überfällige Korrektur im bundesdeutschen Strafrecht. Kein Zufall, dass in diesem gesellschaftlichen Klima „Der bewegte Mann“ zum größten deutschen Kinoerfolg des Jahres wurde. Mehr als sechs Millionen Zuschauer wollten die Schwulen-Komödie von Regisseur Sönke Wortmann sehen.

UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN – Auf dem Gipfel – 1994

In der zehnteiligen Reihe reist der WDR zurück in die 90er Jahre – in eine Zeit, als Handys noch als riesige Knochen ans Ohr gepresst wurden, Musiksender wie EinsLive und Viva starteten und das alte Revier sich zum Naherholungsgebiet mauserte.

Weitere Filme