Producer
Director
Sebastian Dehnhardt, Manfred Oldenburg
Producer
Digital Betacam
Genre
Documentary
Broadcaster
ZDF / History Channel
Length
1 x 52'
Editor
Year
2004
The Liberation
The longest day

It was the most massive, bold, adventurous and loss-making landing operation in history: on 6 June 1944, some 200,000 men - Americans, British and their allies - set out to storm "Fortress Europe" to seal the defeat of the Third Reich.

At dawn on 6 June, the Normandy coastline is transformed into a hell of fire and smoke. When the first landing craft reach the beach at 6.30 a.m., the German soldiers fire grenades and heavy machine-gun salvos into the landing crowds of people who are completely defenceless against the shelling on the flat beach. It is a terrible massacre. In the landing sector "Omaha Beach" alone, thousands of Americans fall in a short time, torn and shredded by iron and steel. Soldiers who survived this horrific moment will never forget it.

The Liberation: The Longest Day

It was the most massive, bold, adventurous and loss-making landing operation in history: on 6 June 1944, some 200,000 men - Americans, British and their allies - set out to storm "Fortress Europe" to seal the defeat of the Third Reich.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Sebastian Dehnhardt, Manfred Oldenburg
Editor
Genre
Dokumentation
Sender
ZDF / History Channel
Länge
1 x 52'
Format
Digital Betacam
Jahr
2004
Die Befreiung
Der längste Tag

Es war das gewaltigste, kühnste, abenteuerlichste und verlustreichste Landungsunternehmen in der Geschichte: Am 6. Juni 1944 traten rund 200.000 Mann – Amerikaner, Briten und ihre Verbündeten – zum Sturm auf die „Festung Europa“ an, um die Niederlage des Dritten Reichs zu besiegeln.

Im Morgengrauen des 6. Juni verwandelt sich der Küstenstreifen in der Normandie in eine Hölle aus Feuer und Rauch. Als um 6.30 Uhr die ersten Landungsboote den Strand erreichen, feuern die deutschen Soldaten Granaten und schwere Maschinengewehrsalven in die landenden Menschentrauben, die auf dem ebenen Strand dem Beschuss völlig schutzlos ausgeliefert sind. Es ist ein furchtbares Massaker. Allein im Landungssektor „Omaha Beach“ fallen in kurzer Zeit tausende Amerikaner, zerrissen und zerfetzt von Eisen und Stahl. Soldaten, die diesen grauenvollen Moment überlebt haben, werden ihn nie vergessen.

Die Befreiung: Der längste Tag

Es war das gewaltigste, kühnste, abenteuerlichste und verlustreichste Landungsunternehmen in der Geschichte: Am 6. Juni 1944 traten rund 200.000 Mann – Amerikaner, Briten und ihre Verbündeten – zum Sturm auf die „Festung Europa“ an, um die Niederlage des Dritten Reichs zu besiegeln.

Weitere Filme