Producer
Producer
Leopold Hoesch
Editor
Genre
History
Broadcaster
WDR
Length
1 x 45'
Format
Anna Bilger, Kathrin Schwiering
Year
2019
UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN
Am Limit - 1993

In the ten-part series, WDR travels back to the 90s - to a time when mobile phones were still pressed to the ear as huge bones, music stations like EinsLive and Viva started and the old precinct turned into a local recreation area.

In 1993, techno conquered our country and we turned night into day. Halle in Westphalia became the German Wimbledon. The White Christmas in Cologne fell into dramatically high water. And hundreds of thousands took to the streets for humanity and for their future. Workers at the KruppHoesch steelworks lit candles and torches. In the "Night of 1000 Fires" they blocked the B1 in Dortmund and fought for their jobs. Werner Nass was chairman of the general works council at the time and tried to prevent the threatened closure and the job loss of many colleagues. At the beginning of the year, more than 300,000 people took to the streets in Essen, with a kilometre-long chain of lights advocating for more humanity and against xenophobia. But in May, the house of the Genç family burned down in Solingen. Five people died. It was one of the most momentous attacks in North Rhine-Westphalia. The perpetrators from the right-wing camp were quickly arrested - the people in the country were shocked, agitated and ashamed.

OUR COUNTRY IN THE 90s - At the limit - 1993

In the ten-part series, WDR travels back to the 90s - to a time when mobile phones were still pressed to the ear as huge bones, music stations like EinsLive and Viva started and the old precinct turned into a local recreation area.

More films

Produzent
Produzent
Leopold Hoesch
Editor
Genre
Geschichte
Sender
WDR
Länge
1 x 45'
Format
Anna Bilger, Kathrin Schwiering
Jahr
2019
UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN
Am Limit - 1993

In der zehnteiligen Reihe reist der WDR zurück in die 90er Jahre – in eine Zeit, als Handys noch als riesige Knochen ans Ohr gepresst wurden, Musiksender wie EinsLive und Viva starteten und das alte Revier sich zum Naherholungsgebiet mauserte.

Im Jahr 1993 eroberte Techno unser Land und wir machten die Nacht zum Tag. Halle in Westfalen wurde zum deutschen Wimbledon. Die Weiße Weihnacht fiel in Köln ins dramatisch hohe Wasser. Und Hunderttausende gingen für Menschlichkeit und für ihre Zukunft auf die Straße. Die Belegschaften der Stahlwerke von KruppHoesch zündeten Kerzen und Fackeln an. In der „Nacht der 1000 Feuer“ blockierten sie die B1 in Dortmund und kämpften um ihre Arbeitsplätze. Werner Nass war damals Vorsitzender des Gesamtbetriebsrats und versuchte die drohende Schließung und den Jobverlust vieler Kollegen zu verhindern. Zu Beginn des Jahres gingen in Essen über 300.000 Menschen auf die Straße, mit einer kilometerlangen Lichterkette traten sie für mehr Menschlichkeit und gegen Ausländerhass ein. Doch im Mai brannte in Solingen das Haus der Familie Genç. Fünf Menschen starben. Es war einer der folgenreichsten Anschläge in NRW. Die Täter aus dem rechten Lager wurden schnell verhaftet – die Menschen im Land waren schockiert, aufgewühlt und beschämt.

UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN – Am Limit – 1993

In der zehnteiligen Reihe reist der WDR zurück in die 90er Jahre – in eine Zeit, als Handys noch als riesige Knochen ans Ohr gepresst wurden, Musiksender wie EinsLive und Viva starteten und das alte Revier sich zum Naherholungsgebiet mauserte.

Weitere Filme