Producer
Producer
Leopold Hoesch
Editor
Genre
History
Broadcaster
WDR
Length
1 x 45'
Format
Carolin Wagner
Year
2019
UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN
Countdown ins neue Jahrtausend - 1999

In the ten-part series, WDR travels back to the 90s - to a time when mobile phones were still pressed to the ear as huge bones, music stations like EinsLive and Viva started and the old precinct turned into a local recreation area.

The year 1999 brought a film to the cinemas that became a cult, a world-champion hammer throw, hunting for cute grouse - and the panic of a millennium bug. The two-digit year, which many computers in industry and administration use, caused a small panic. The fear was: if the double zero for the year 2000 followed the 99, the computer would interpret this as 1900. Computer networks would collapse as a result. This would also have affected the cities in NRW. But the PCs were still running, and the main thing people did on them was to play games! The hunt for the grouse took over offices all over the country. The inventors of the game were based in Wattenscheid. Due to their animal success, a kind of high frenzy set in: they went to the stock exchange and played the really big game there. But then it came out: the balance sheets were falsified. The grouse had shot itself down.

OUR COUNTRY IN THE 90s - Countdown to the New Millennium - 1999

In the ten-part series, WDR travels back to the 90s - to a time when mobile phones were still pressed to the ear as huge bones, music stations like EinsLive and Viva started and the old precinct turned into a local recreation area.

More films

Produzent
Produzent
Leopold Hoesch
Editor
Genre
Geschichte
Sender
WDR
Länge
1 x 45'
Format
Carolin Wagner
Jahr
2019
UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN
Countdown ins neue Jahrtausend - 1999

In der zehnteiligen Reihe reist der WDR zurück in die 90er Jahre – in eine Zeit, als Handys noch als riesige Knochen ans Ohr gepresst wurden, Musiksender wie EinsLive und Viva starteten und das alte Revier sich zum Naherholungsgebiet mauserte.

Das Jahr 1999 brachte einen Film in die Kinos, der zum Kult wurde, einen weltmeisterlichen Hammer-Wurf, Jagd auf niedliche Moorhühner – und die Panik vor einem Jahrtausendfehler. Die zweistellige Jahreszahl, die viele Computer in Industrie und Verwaltung nutzen, sorgte für eine kleine Panik. Die Angst war: Folgt nach der 99 die Doppelnull für das Jahr 2000, würde das vom Computer als 1900 gedeutet werden. Rechnernetze sollten infolgedessen so zusammenbrechen. Davon wären auch die Städte in NRW betroffen gewesen. Doch noch liefen die PCs, und auf ihnen wurde vor allem eines: gedaddelt! Die Jagd auf das Moorhuhn eroberte Büros im ganzen Land. Die Erfinder des Spiels saßen in Wattenscheid. Aufgrund ihres tierischen Erfolgs setzte eine Art Höhenrausch ein: Sie gingen an die Börse und spielten dort das ganz große Spiel. Aber dann kam heraus: die Bilanzen waren gefälscht. Das Moorhuhn hatte sich selbst abgeschossen.

UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN – Countdown ins neue Jahrtausend – 1999

In der zehnteiligen Reihe reist der WDR zurück in die 90er Jahre – in eine Zeit, als Handys noch als riesige Knochen ans Ohr gepresst wurden, Musiksender wie EinsLive und Viva starteten und das alte Revier sich zum Naherholungsgebiet mauserte.

Weitere Filme