Producer
Director
Manfred Oldenburg & Jobst Knigge
Producer
n/a
Genre
History
Broadcaster
ZDF / arte
Length
1 x 90'
Editor
Year
2018
COAL
Dawning of a New Age

With the last shift at Prosper Haniel Colliery in Bottrop, an epoch comes to an end in December: the age of Western European hard coal mining. DIE STEINKOHLE brings to life the challenges that people have had to overcome over the last 250 years in the extraction of black gold. And it shows emotionally and surprisingly how German and European history are reflected in coal mining.

In the first part, the documentary goes back to the Middle Ages and shows how people used coal at that time. But it was not until the invention of the steam engine in the 18th century that underground mining became possible. Thus the now more intensive extraction of hard coal marks the birth of modern Europe: with the industrial revolution, agrarian states such as Germany, France and England are transformed into powerful industrial nations within a few decades, and formerly rural regions grow rapidly into cities and industrial centres. Inventions such as the railway bring people together and allow the economy to flourish. Society changes, the bourgeoisie experiences unprecedented prosperity and freedom at the end of the 19th century, while workers struggle with the dark side of industrialisation and the social question becomes increasingly urgent. And while at the beginning of the 20th century the first migrant workers from Eastern Europe gained a foothold in the coal industry, it became the weapons factory of a heated society. Until the first industrial war broke out in 1914 with the First World War - also made possible by hard coal.

COAL: Dawning of a New Age

With the last shift at Prosper Haniel Colliery in Bottrop, an epoch comes to an end in December: the age of Western European hard coal mining. DIE STEINKOHLE brings to life the challenges that people have had to overcome over the last 250 years in the extraction of black gold. And it shows emotionally and surprisingly how German and European history are reflected in coal mining.

Awards

More films

Jahr
2018
Länge
1 x 90'
Genre
Geschichte
Format
n/a
Regie
Manfred Oldenburg & Jobst Knigge
Sender
ZDF / arte
Die Steinkohle
Aufbruch in eine neue Zeit

Mit der letzten Schicht in der Zeche Prosper Haniel in Bottrop geht im Dezember eine Epoche zu Ende: das Zeitalter der westeuropäischen Steinkohleförderung. DIE STEINKOHLE macht erlebbar, welche Herausforderungen die Menschen in den letzten 250 Jahren bei der Gewinnung des schwarzen Golds überwinden mussten. Und sie zeigt emotional und überraschend, wie sich deutsche und europäische Geschichte im Kohlebergbau widerspiegeln.

Im ersten Teil geht die Dokumentation bis ins Mittelalter zurück und zeigt, wie die Menschen damals die Steinkohle nutzen. Doch erst die Erfindung der Dampfmaschine im 18. Jhdt ermöglicht den Abbau unter Tage. So markiert die nun intensiver werdende Steinkohleförderung die Geburt des modernen Europas: Mit der industriellen Revolution wandeln sich Agrarstaaten wie Deutschland, Frankreich und England in wenigen Jahrzehnten zu mächtigen Industrienationen, vormals ländliche Regionen wachsen rasant zu Städten und Industriezentren. Erfindungen wie die Eisenbahn bringen die Menschen zueinander und lassen die Wirtschaft florieren. Die Gesellschaft wandelt sich, das Bürgertum erlebt Ende des 19. Jhdts nie gekannten Wohlstand und Freiheiten, während Arbeiter mit den Schattenseiten der Industrialisierung kämpfen und die soziale Frage immer drängender wird. Und während Anfang des 20. Jhdts erste Arbeitsmigranten aus Osteuropa in der Kohleindustrie Fuß fassen, wird diese zur Waffenschmiede einer aufgeheizten Gesellschaft. Bis 1914 mit dem 1. Weltkrieg der erste industriell geführte Krieg ausbricht – ermöglicht auch durch die Steinkohle.

Die Steinkohle: Aufbruch in eine neue Zeit

Mit der letzten Schicht in der Zeche Prosper Haniel in Bottrop geht im Dezember eine Epoche zu Ende: das Zeitalter der westeuropäischen Steinkohleförderung. DIE STEINKOHLE macht erlebbar, welche Herausforderungen die Menschen in den letzten 250 Jahren bei der Gewinnung des schwarzen Golds überwinden mussten. Und sie zeigt emotional und überraschend, wie sich deutsche und europäische Geschichte im Kohlebergbau widerspiegeln.

Auszeichnungen

Weitere Filme