Producer
Director
Christoph Caron
Editor
Genre
Dynasties
Broadcaster
ARD
Length
1 x 45'
Format
16:9 HDTV
Year
2010
The Grimaldis
Nobility obliges

The princely family of Monaco, with its glamorous appearances, strokes of fate and scandals, has been in the media spotlight for decades. Luxury, jet-setting and gambling - like no other noble dynasty in Europe, the House of Grimaldi surrounds itself with glitz and glamour.

The documentary shows rare film footage of the Princely Family, including for the first time an amateur film of the preparations for the wedding of Prince Rainier and Grace Kelly. Representatives of the European high nobility, such as Prince Eduard von Anhalt and Prince Heinrich von Hannover - Princess Caroline's brother-in-law - have their say. Hollywood director Robert Dornhelm reports for the first time on German television about Grace Kelly's last film project. Interviews with biographers and old friends of the House of Grimaldi also provide unusual insights into the history of this dazzling princely family.

First broadcast: Mon., 14 June 2010, 21:00, ARD.

The Grimaldis: Nobility obliges

The princely family of Monaco, with its glamorous appearances, strokes of fate and scandals, has been in the media spotlight for decades. Luxury, jet-setting and gambling - like no other noble dynasty in Europe, the House of Grimaldi surrounds itself with glitz and glamour.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Christoph Caron
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Dynastien
Sender
ARD
Länge
1 x 45'
Editor
Jahr
2010
Die Grimaldis
Adel verpflichtet

Die Fürstenfamilie von Monaco mit ihren Glamourauftritten, Schicksalsschlägen und Skandalen steht seit Jahrzehnten im Blitzlichtgewitter der Medien. Luxus, Jet-Set und Glücksspiel – wie keine andere Adelsdynastie in Europa umgibt sich das Haus Grimaldi mit Glanz und Glamour.

Die Dokumentation zeigt rare Filmaufnahmen der Fürstenfamilie, darunter erstmals einen Amateurfilm von den Vorbereitungen der Hochzeit von Fürst Rainier und Grace Kelly. Zu Wort kommen Vertreter des europäischen Hochadels, wie Prinz Eduard von Anhalt und Prinz Heinrich von Hannover – der Schwager von Prinzessin Caroline. Der Hollywood-Regisseur Robert Dornhelm berichtet erstmals im deutschen Fernsehen über das letzte Filmprojekt von Grace Kelly. Auch Interviews mit Biographen und alten Freunden des Hauses Grimaldi geben ungewöhnliche Einblicke in die Geschichte dieser schillernden Fürstenfamilie.

Erstausstrahlung: Mo., 14. Juni 2010, 21:00 Uhr, ARD.

Die Grimaldis: Adel verpflichtet

Die Fürstenfamilie von Monaco mit ihren Glamourauftritten, Schicksalsschlägen und Skandalen steht seit Jahrzehnten im Blitzlichtgewitter der Medien. Luxus, Jet-Set und Glücksspiel – wie keine andere Adelsdynastie in Europa umgibt sich das Haus Grimaldi mit Glanz und Glamour.

Weitere Filme