Producer
Director
Julia Melchior
Editor
Genre
Culture
Broadcaster
WDR
Length
1 x 52'
Format
16:9 HD
Year
2015
Cologne's Grand Hotel
The Excelsior Hotel Ernst

At the foot of Cologne Cathedral, Cologne's Grand Hotel has stood proudly for more than one hundred and fifty years. The Excelsior Hotel Ernst. A fortress of tradition and good taste. It is one of the last family-run luxury hotels in the world. Artists, kings, business bosses and politicians have been coming and going here for decades. German Chancellor Konrad Adenauer, Empress Soraya, Karl May, the Kennedys and many other notable personalities have written hotel history here.

The film explores the eventful history of the Grand Hotel and its owner family in the mirror of the history of the cathedral city. The documentary takes the viewer behind the scenes of the hotel business and observes the colourful goings-on in the house. Family, staff and renowned guests look back on special events, fateful encounters and amusing memories. Historical film footage brings the hotel's history to life and shows how inseparable it is from Cologne's cityscape.

Cologne's Grand Hotel - The Excelsior Hotel Ernst

At the foot of Cologne Cathedral, Cologne's Grand Hotel has stood proudly for more than one hundred and fifty years. The Excelsior Hotel Ernst. A fortress of tradition and good taste. It is one of the last family-run luxury hotels in the world. Artists, kings, business bosses and politicians have been coming and going here for decades. German Chancellor Konrad Adenauer, Empress Soraya, Karl May, the Kennedys and many other notable personalities have written hotel history here.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Julia Melchior
Editor
Genre
Kultur
Sender
WDR
Länge
1 x 52'
Format
16:9 HD
Jahr
2015
Kölns Grand Hotel
Das Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Am Fuße des Kölner Doms steht stolz seit mehr als einhundertfünfzig Jahren Kölns Grand Hotel. Das Excelsior Hotel Ernst. Eine Festung der Tradition und des guten Geschmacks. Es ist eines der letzten familiengeführten Luxushotels der Welt. Künstler, Könige, Wirtschaftsbosse und Politiker gehen hier seit Jahrzehnten ein und aus. Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer, Kaiserin Soraya, Karl May, die Kennedys und viele andere namhafte Persönlichkeiten haben hier Hotelgeschichte geschrieben.

Der Film ergründet die wechselvolle Geschichte des Grand Hotels und seiner Eigentümerfamilie im Spiegel der Geschichte der Domstadt. Bildstark nimmt die Dokumentation den Zuschauer mit hinter die Kulissen des Hotelbetriebs und beobachtet das bunte Treiben im Haus. Familie, Mitarbeiter und namhafte Gäste blicken auf besondere Ereignisse, schicksalhafte Begegnungen und amüsante Erinnerungen zurück. Historisches Filmmaterial macht die Geschichte des Hotels lebendig und zeigt, wie untrennbar es zum Kölner Stadtbild gehört.

Kölns Grand Hotel – Das Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Am Fuße des Kölner Doms steht stolz seit mehr als einhundertfünfzig Jahren Kölns Grand Hotel. Das Excelsior Hotel Ernst. Eine Festung der Tradition und des guten Geschmacks. Es ist eines der letzten familiengeführten Luxushotels der Welt. Künstler, Könige, Wirtschaftsbosse und Politiker gehen hier seit Jahrzehnten ein und aus. Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer, Kaiserin Soraya, Karl May, die Kennedys und viele andere namhafte Persönlichkeiten haben hier Hotelgeschichte geschrieben.

Weitere Filme