Producer
Director
Anke Rebbert
Producer
BROADVIEW TV
Genre
History
Broadcaster
WDR
Length
1 x 45'
Editor
Year
2017
OUR LAND 1974
When we were unbeatable

In the summer of 1974, life in our country took off. Everything became more colourful, more international, more passionate. The world came to NRW for the World Cup. The fourth film in the ten-part documentary series about the 1970s in North Rhine-Westphalia tells of a time when people could buy final match tickets for 15 DM and queue up for a whole night for them, of a year when we were unbeatable.

The documentary is much more than a sequence of events, it tells stories of people for whom the year 1974 was formative. For Walburga Krebber from Seppenrade, for example. Her husband, a Bundesliga referee, was chosen to coach the national team of Zaire. The "Leopards" were accommodated in Ascheberg in Münsterland. They lived and trained there during the World Cup - and were looked after by Walburga Krebber.

Or the Australian Jo Ann Endicott. As a classical ballet dancer, she set out for the other side of the world - to Wuppertal to join Pina Bausch. Bausch had just become ballet director and called her first choreography simply "Fritz". Endicott was part of the group and experienced a dance theatre almost without dance, very minimalist and experimental - Wuppertal and the Tanztheater Pina Bausch opened up a new world for Endicott.

Unbeatable in 1974 was also the Allwetterzoo Münster, which celebrated its new opening in May. On that day, Bärbel Uphoff stood at the entrance and greeted the visitors. In her arms were two chimpanzee children, Max and Moritz, whom she had raised herself. Animal keepers are a rarity in Münster in 1974. The 67-year-old Bärbel Uphoff was a pioneer and conquered this male domain.

The film is narrated by actress Annette Frier, who was born in Cologne in 1974. WDR was able to win ten prominent personalities from NRW as sponsors and narrators of the films. They tell the stories and events of the year of their birth and thus make the series "Our Country - the 70s" a very personal and entertaining journey back in time to a turbulent decade.

 

 

More films

Produzent
Regie
Anke Rebbert
Producer
BROADVIEW TV
Genre
Geschichte
Sender
WDR
Länge
1 x 45'
Editor
Jahr
2017
UNSER LAND 1974
Als wir unschlagbar waren

Im Sommer 1974 nahm das Leben in unserem Land Fahrt auf. Alles wurde bunter, internationaler, leidenschaftlicher. Die Welt zu Gast in NRW, zur Fußball-WM. Der vierte Film der zehnteiligen Dokumentationsreihe über die 70er Jahre in Nordrhein-Westfalen erzählt von einer Zeit als die Menschen Endspiel-Karten für 15 DM kaufen konnten und dafür eine ganze Nacht Schlange standen, von einem Jahr, in dem wir unschlagbar waren.

Die Dokumentation ist weit mehr als eine Abfolge der Ereignisse, sie erzählt Geschichten von Menschen, für die das Jahr 1974 prägend war. Für Walburga Krebber aus Seppenrade zum Beispiel. Ihr Mann, ein Bundesliga-Schiedsrichter, war ausgeguckt die Nationalmannschaft von Zaire zu betreuen. Die ,,Leoparden“ waren in Ascheberg im Münsterland untergebracht. Dort lebten und trainierten sie während der WM – und wurden umsorgt von Walburga Krebber.

Oder die Australierin Jo Ann Endicott. Als klassische Ballett-Tänzerin machte sie sich auf den Weg ans andere Ende der Welt – nach Wuppertal zu Pina Bausch. Bausch war gerade Ballettdirektorin geworden und nannte ihre erste Choreografie schlicht ,,Fritz“. Endicott war mit von der Partie und erlebte ein Tanztheater fast ohne Tanz, sehr minimalistisch und experimentell – Wuppertal und das Tanztheater Pina Bausch eröffneten Endicott eine neue Welt.

Unschlagbar war 1974 auch der Allwetterzoo Münster, der im Mai seine Neueröffnung feierte. An diesem Tag stand Bärbel Uphoff am Eingang und begrüßte die Besucher. Auf dem Arm zwei Schimpansen-Kinder, Max und Moritz, die sie selbst groß gezogen hatte. Tierpflegerinnen sind in Münster 1974 eine Rarität. Die 67jährige Bärbel Uphoff war eine Pionierin und hat sich diese Männerdomäne erobert.

Erzählt wird der Film von Schauspielerin Annette Frier, die just 1974 in Köln auf die Welt kam. Der WDR konnte zehn prominente Persönlichkeiten aus NRW als Paten und Sprecher der Filme gewinnen. Sie erzählen die Geschichten und Ereignisse ihres Geburtsjahres und machen die Reihe „Unser Land – die 70er“ damit auch zu einer ganz persönlichen und unterhaltsamen Zeitreise zurück in ein turbulentes Jahrzehnt.

 

 

Weitere Filme