Producer
Director
Sebastian Dehnhardt, Ricarda Schlosshan, Manfred Oldenburg
Editor
Genre
History
Broadcaster
ZDF
Length
3 x 45'
Format
16:9 HDTV
Year
2010
The World Empire of the Germans
Part 1: Headhunting in East Africa

Endless savannah steppes. Impenetrable jungle. Dreamlike South Sea beaches. That is the German Empire one hundred years ago. The imperial war flag fluttered over the fourth largest colonial empire of its time at the end of the 19th century. Between 1884 and 1918, the German protectorates became the destination of settlers, missionaries and soldiers of fortune. But after the defeat in the First World War, the dream of a German world empire was over.

The three-part series focuses on the stories and experiences of German settlers, Schutztruppe soldiers and locals who experienced the decisive events first-hand - and left accounts for posterity. BROADVIEW TV reconstructs the history of the German colonies on the basis of these personal fates and presents the key experiences of these protagonists in elaborately staged scenes. Using the latest CGI, mass scenes such as the Herero uprising with the decisive battle on the Waterberg in Southwest Africa or the bloody conflicts between Germans and Africans in East Africa are staged. In addition, there are exciting stories of cannibal villages in German New Guinea, the odyssey of a mother with her newborn child through the steppes of Southwest Africa and a sect of nudist sun worshippers in the South Seas.

Commissioned by ZDF, BROADVIEW TV for the first time explores the question of what the Germans were looking for in the colonies of German Southwest Africa, German East Africa and the protectorates in the South Seas. Who were the people who went to the colonies and what dreams did they pursue? What conflicts arose between the "masters" and the "colonial peoples" and what traces did the Germans leave behind?

First broadcast on ZDF: Tuesday, 06 April 2010, 8:15 p.m.

 

The German World Empire Part 1: Headhunting in East Africa

Endless savannah steppes. Impenetrable jungle. Dreamlike South Sea beaches. That is the German Empire one hundred years ago. The imperial war flag fluttered over the fourth largest colonial empire of its time at the end of the 19th century. Between 1884 and 1918, the German protectorates became the destination of settlers, missionaries and soldiers of fortune. But after the defeat in the First World War, the dream of a German world empire was over.

More films

Jahr
2010
Länge
3 x 45'
Genre
Geschichte
Format
16:9 HDTV
Regie
Sebastian Dehnhardt, Ricarda Schlosshan, Manfred Oldenburg
Sender
ZDF
Das Weltreich der Deutschen
Teil 1: Kopfjagd in Ostafrika

Endlose Savannensteppen. Undurchdringlicher Dschungel. Traumhafte Südseestrände. Das ist das Deutsche Reich vor hundert Jahren. Die Reichskriegsflagge flatterte Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts über dem viertgrößten Kolonialreich seiner Zeit. Die deutschen Schutzgebiete wurden zwischen 1884 und 1918 zum Ziel von Siedlern, Missionaren und Glücksrittern. Doch nach der Niederlage im Ersten Weltkrieg war er vorbei, der Traum vom Weltreich der Deutschen.

Im Mittelpunkt der dreiteiligen Reihe stehen die Geschichten und Erlebnisse von deutschen Siedlern, Schutztruppensoldaten und Einheimischen, die die entscheidenden Ereignisse aus eigener Anschauung erlebten – und der Nachwelt Berichte hinterlassen haben. Anhand dieser persönlichen Schicksale rekonstruiert BROADVIEW TV die Geschichte der deutschen Kolonien und setzt die Schlüsselerlebnisse dieser Protagonisten in aufwendig inszenierten Spielszenen ins Bild. Mittels modernster CGI`s werden Massenszenen wie der Herero-Aufstand mit der Entscheidungsschlacht am Waterberg in Südwestafrika oder die blutigen Auseinandersetzungen zwischen Deutschen und Afrikanern in Ostafrika inszeniert. Dazu kommen spannende Geschichten von Kannibalendörfer in Deutsch-Neuguinea, der Odyssee einer Mutter mit ihrem Neugeborenen durch die Steppe Südwestafrikas und einer Sekte von nudistischen Sonnenanbetern in der Südsee.

Im Auftrag des ZDF geht BROADVIEW TV erstmals der Frage nach, was die Deutschen in den Kolonien Deutsch-Südwestafrika, Deutsch-Ostafrika und den Schutzgebieten in der Südsee suchten. Wer waren die Menschen, die in die Kolonien gingen und welche Träume verfolgten sie? Welche Konflikte entstanden zwischen den „Herren“ und den „Kolonialvölkern“ und welche Spuren haben die Deutschen hinterlassen?

Erstausstrahlungen im ZDF: Dienstag, 06. April 2010, 20:15 Uhr

 

Das Weltreich der Deutschen Teil 1: Kopfjagd in Ostafrika

Endlose Savannensteppen. Undurchdringlicher Dschungel. Traumhafte Südseestrände. Das ist das Deutsche Reich vor hundert Jahren. Die Reichskriegsflagge flatterte Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts über dem viertgrößten Kolonialreich seiner Zeit. Die deutschen Schutzgebiete wurden zwischen 1884 und 1918 zum Ziel von Siedlern, Missionaren und Glücksrittern. Doch nach der Niederlage im Ersten Weltkrieg war er vorbei, der Traum vom Weltreich der Deutschen.

Weitere Filme