Producer
Director
Sebastian Dehnhardt, Manfred Oldenburg, Christian Deick, Jörg Müllner
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Documentary
Broadcaster
ZDF/TVS/Teleac NOT/YLE
Length
3 x 52'
Editor
Year
2003
Stalingrad - A Trilogy
Part 1: The Attack | Part 2: The Cauldron | Part 3: The Fall

Hardly any other event in the history of war has been as traumatically imprinted on the minds of Germans as the catastrophe on the Volga in 1942/43. To mark the 60th anniversary of the battle, BROADVIEW TV, in cooperation with ZDF, documented the downfall of the 6th Army in a stirring three-part film that was nominated for an International Emmy Award in 2003.

The battle for Stalingrad, in which at least one million German soldiers, Red Army soldiers and Soviet civilians fell victim, was the bloodiest decisive battle in the war of extermination unleashed by Hitler. Like a shock, the catastrophe of the 6th Army made it clear to many Germans that, despite all the propaganda chants, the war would be lost. For Germans and Russians, Stalingrad marked the psychological turning point in the Second World War. How the catastrophe came about and what cruel consequences the battle had for the soldiers and inhabitants of the city are described in the series with many previously unpublished film recordings and unsparing eyewitness testimonies from survivors on both sides.

Stalingrad - A Trilogy

Hardly any other event in the history of war has been as traumatically imprinted on the minds of Germans as the catastrophe on the Volga in 1942/43. To mark the 60th anniversary of the battle, BROADVIEW TV, in cooperation with ZDF, documented the downfall of the 6th Army in a stirring three-part film that was nominated for an International Emmy Award in 2003.

Awards

More films

Produzent
Regie
Sebastian Dehnhardt, Manfred Oldenburg, Christian Deick, Jörg Müllner
Editor
Genre
Dokumentation
Sender
ZDF/TVS/Teleac NOT/YLE
Länge
3 x 52'
Format
16:9 HDTV
Jahr
2003
Stalingrad – Eine Trilogie
Teil 1: Der Angriff | Teil 2: Der Kessel | Teil 3: Der Untergang

Kaum ein Ereignis der Kriegsgeschichte hat sich ähnlich traumatisch in das Bewusstsein der Deutschen eingeprägt wie die Katastrophe an der Wolga 1942/43. BROADVIEW TV dokumentierte zum 60. Jahrestag der Schlacht in Zusammenarbeit mit dem ZDF den Untergang der 6. Armee in einem aufwühlenden Dreiteiler, der 2003 für den International Emmy Award nominiert wurde.

Der Kampf um Stalingrad, dem mindestens eine Million deutsche Soldaten, Rotarmisten und sowjetische Zivilisten zum Opfer fielen, war die blutigste Entscheidungsschlacht in dem von Hitler entfesselten Vernichtungskrieg. Schockartig machte die Katastrophe der 6. Armee vielen Deutschen klar, dass trotz aller Propagandagesänge der Krieg verloren gehen würde. Stalingrad markiert für Deutsche und Russen den psychologischen Wendepunkt im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Wie es zur Katastrophe kam und welche grausamen Folgen die Schlacht für die Soldaten und Einwohner der Stadt hatte, schildert die Reihe mit vielen bislang unveröffentlichten Filmaufnahmen und schonungslosen Zeitzeugenaussagen Überlebender beider Seiten.

Stalingrad – Eine Trilogie

Kaum ein Ereignis der Kriegsgeschichte hat sich ähnlich traumatisch in das Bewusstsein der Deutschen eingeprägt wie die Katastrophe an der Wolga 1942/43. BROADVIEW TV dokumentierte zum 60. Jahrestag der Schlacht in Zusammenarbeit mit dem ZDF den Untergang der 6. Armee in einem aufwühlenden Dreiteiler, der 2003 für den International Emmy Award nominiert wurde.

Auszeichnungen

Weitere Filme