Producer
Producer
Leopold Hoesch
Producer
Lukas Hoffmann
Genre
History
Broadcaster
WDR
Length
1 x 45'
Editor
Year
2019
OUR LAND IN THE 90s
Reaching for the Stars - 1997

In the ten-part series, WDR travels back to the 90s - to a time when mobile phones were still pressed to the ear as huge bones, music stations like EinsLive and Viva started and the old precinct turned into a local recreation area.

The year 1997 gave much cause for celebration. Schalke 04 fought for the UEFA final and got a new stadium anthem in the process. In Dortmund, newborn babies were called "Lars". The Ruhr area fought for its future and let flowers speak. The comet Hale-Bopp could be seen with the naked eye and turned many people in NRW into amateur astronomers. And Reinhold Ewald reached for the stars. Reinhold Ewald, a real astronaut from Mönchengladbach, trained in Cologne and Moscow and embarked on his first space flight. Next stop: MIR, the Russian space station. Around the world in 90 minutes. In his luggage: a mixtape with "Space Music". Dramatic highlight of the journey: a fire on board the MIR. But the crew quickly got it under control. And Ewald later landed safely in the Kazakh steppe.

OUR LAND IN THE 90s - Reaching for the Stars - 1997

In the ten-part series, WDR travels back to the 90s - to a time when mobile phones were still pressed to the ear as huge bones, music stations like EinsLive and Viva started and the old precinct turned into a local recreation area.

More films

Jahr
2019
Länge
1 x 45'
Genre
Geschichte
Regie
Lukas Hoffmann
Produzent
Leopold Hoesch
Sender
WDR
UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN
Griff nach den Sternen - 1997

In der zehnteiligen Reihe reist der WDR zurück in die 90er Jahre – in eine Zeit, als Handys noch als riesige Knochen ans Ohr gepresst wurden, Musiksender wie EinsLive und Viva starteten und das alte Revier sich zum Naherholungsgebiet mauserte.

Das Jahr 1997 gab viel Anlass zum Jubeln. Schalke 04 kämpfte um das UEFA-Finale und bekam dabei eine neue Stadionhymne. In Dortmund hießen Neugeborene „Lars“. Das Ruhrgebiet kämpfte für seine Zukunft und ließ Blumen sprechen. Der Komet Hale-Bopp war mit bloßem Auge zu sehen und machte viele Menschen in NRW zu Hobby-Astronomen. Und Reinhold Ewald griff nach den Sternen. Reinhold Ewald, ein waschechter Astronaut aus Mönchengladbach, wurde in Köln und Moskau ausgebildet und trat seinen ersten Raumflug an. Nächster Halt: MIR, die russische Raumstation. In 90 Minuten um die Welt. Mit im Gepäck: ein Mixtape mit „Space Music“. Dramatischer Höhepunkt der Reise: ein Feuer an Bord der MIR. Doch die Crew bekam das schnell in den Griff. Und Ewald landete später sicher in der kasachischen Steppe.

UNSER LAND IN DEN 90ERN – Griff nach den Sternen – 1997

In der zehnteiligen Reihe reist der WDR zurück in die 90er Jahre – in eine Zeit, als Handys noch als riesige Knochen ans Ohr gepresst wurden, Musiksender wie EinsLive und Viva starteten und das alte Revier sich zum Naherholungsgebiet mauserte.

Weitere Filme