Producer
Director
Christian Frey
Editor
Genre
Culture
Broadcaster
ZDFtheaterkanal / 3sat / ZDFdokukanal
Length
1 x 30'
Format
Digital Betacam
Year
2003
Theatrescapes
Schmidts Tivoli Hamburg

Schmidts Tivoli is located in Hamburg's notorious St. Pauli district, right next to the Reeperbahn.

Under the motto "Cult and Entertainment", the house on Spielbudenplatz has dedicated itself to fabulous musical revues and musicals in addition to shrill neighbourhood theatre. Gifted artists such as Helge Schneider, Georgette Dee and Tim Fischer attract audiences in droves under the blue dome of the plush theatre hall.

The theatre became known throughout Germany between 1990 and 1993 when the "Schmidt-Mitternachtsshow" - with theatre founder Corny Littman as Mr Schmidt, Ernie Reinhardt as Lilo Wanders and Jutta Wübbe as Mrs Jaschke - also thrilled television audiences in over 30 programmes. In 1991, the "Schmidt-Mitternachtsshow" was awarded the Adolf Grimme Prize in silver in the entertainment category.

In 1999, Corny Littmann, who is credited with making the Reeperbahn culturally accessible again and who now runs two theatres, several gastronomic businesses and 360 employees, received the title of "Hamburg Entrepreneur of the Year". His comment: "I regard the award as a symbolic peace pipe, which I very much enjoy smoking with the "Hamburg pepper sacks"." As president of FC St. Pauli, Littmann has now taken on an additional "venue".

More films

Produzent
Regie
Christian Frey
Producer
Digital Betacam
Genre
Kultur
Sender
ZDFtheaterkanal / 3sat / ZDFdokukanal
Länge
1 x 30'
Editor
Jahr
2003
Theaterlandschaften
Schmidts Tivoli Hamburg

Im berüchtigten Hamburger Stadtteil St. Pauli, direkt neben der Reeperbahn, befindet sich das Schmidts Tivoli.

Unter dem Motto „Kult und Entertainment“ hat sich das Haus am Spielbudenplatz neben schrillem Kiez-Theater vor allem fabelhaften Musikrevuen und Musicals verschrieben. Begnadete Künstler wie Helge Schneider, Georgette Dee und Tim Fischer locken die Zuschauer in Scharen unter die blaue Kuppel des plüschigen Theatersaals.

Deutschlandweit bekannt wurde das Theater in den Jahren 1990 bis 1993, als die „Schmidt-Mitternachtsshow“ – mit Theatergründer Corny Littman als Herrn Schmidt, Ernie Reinhardt als Lilo Wanders und Jutta Wübbe als Frau Jaschke- auch das Fernsehpublikum in über 30 Sendungen begeisterte. 1991 wurde die „Schmidt-Mitternachtsshow“ in der Sparte Unterhaltung mit dem Adolf-Grimme Preis in Silber ausgezeichnet.

1999 erhielt Corny Littmann, dem man zuspricht, die Reeperbahn wieder kulturell zugänglich gemacht zu haben, und der mittlerweile zwei Theater, mehrere gastronomische Betriebe und 360 Angestellte leitet, den Titel „Hamburger Unternehmer des Jahres“. Sein Kommentar: „Ich betrachte den Preis als eine symbolische Friedenspfeife, die ich sehr gerne mit den „Hamburger Pfeffersäcken“ rauche.“ Als Präsident des FC St. Pauli hat Littmann jetzt eine zusätzliche „Spielstätte“ übernommen.

Weitere Filme