Producer
Director
n/a
Editor
Genre
History
Broadcaster
Arte
Length
1 x 90'
Format
16:9 HDTV
Year
2013
1913
The dance on the volcano

1913 is the last peaceful year before the First World War. The artists already foresee the dark times in their works: Authors write desperate texts, painters destroy perspectives. And Igor Stravinsky creates the aggressive soundtrack to the cultural revolution with "Le Sacre du Printemps". At the premiere on 29 May 1913, there was a scandal: the Parisian audience reacted indignantly to the brute melodies of the Russian composer and the raw choreography by Vaslav Nijinsky.

The documentary "1913 - The Dance on the Volcano" gets to the bottom of the ballet "Le Sacre du Printemps" and its time. In eleven chapters, a team of six authors creates an exciting mosaic of an exciting year: Stalin and Hitler live in Vienna at the same time, long before they bring tyranny and terror to Europe. Meanwhile, the kings of Old Europe are celebrating the wedding of Prussia's Princess Viktoria Luise in Berlin and have no idea that they will soon lose all their power.

But the artists take up the changing times in their work: Picasso defines abstract art, Coco Chanel bans flourishes from fashion, Kafka despairs of his father complex. And all this happens to the pounding rhythm of "Le Sacre du Printemps".

1913 - The Dance on the Volcano

1913 is the last peaceful year before the First World War. The artists already foresee the dark times in their works: Authors write desperate texts, painters destroy perspectives. And Igor Stravinsky creates the aggressive soundtrack to the cultural revolution with "Le Sacre du Printemps". At the premiere on 29 May 1913, there was a scandal: the Parisian audience reacted indignantly to the brute melodies of the Russian composer and the raw choreography by Vaslav Nijinsky.

More films

Produzent
Regie
n/a
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Geschichte
Sender
Arte
Länge
1 x 90'
Editor
Jahr
2013
1913
Der Tanz auf dem Vulkan

1913 ist das letzte friedliche Jahr vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg. Die Künstler erahnen in ihren Werken schon die düsteren Zeiten: Autoren schreiben verzweifelte Texte, Maler zerstören Perspektiven. Und Igor Stravinsky schafft mit „Le Sacre du Printemps“ den aggressiven Soundtrack zur kulturellen Revolution. Bei der Uraufführung am 29. Mai 1913 kommt es zum Eklat: Das Pariser Publikum reagiert empört auf die brachialen Melodien des russischen Komponisten und die rohe Choreografie von Vaslav Nijinsky.

Die Dokumentation „1913 – Der Tanz auf dem Vulkan“ geht dem Ballett „Le Sacre du Printemps“ und seiner Zeit auf den Grund. In elf Kapiteln entwirft ein sechsköpfiges Autorenteam das spannende Mosaik eines aufregenden Jahres: Stalin und Hitler leben zeitgleich in Wien, lange bevor sie Tyrannei und Schrecken über Europa bringen. Währenddessen feiern die Könige des Alten Europas in Berlin die Hochzeit von Preußens Prinzessin Viktoria Luise und ahnen nicht, dass sie schon bald all ihre Macht verlieren werden.

Doch die Künstler greifen den Zeitenwandel in ihrem Schaffen auf: Picasso definiert die abstrakte Kunst, Coco Chanel verbannt Schnörkel aus der Mode, Kafka verzweifelt an seinem Vater-Komplex. Und das alles geschieht zum stampfenden Rhythmus von „Le Sacre du Printemps“.

1913 – Der Tanz auf dem Vulkan

1913 ist das letzte friedliche Jahr vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg. Die Künstler erahnen in ihren Werken schon die düsteren Zeiten: Autoren schreiben verzweifelte Texte, Maler zerstören Perspektiven. Und Igor Stravinsky schafft mit „Le Sacre du Printemps“ den aggressiven Soundtrack zur kulturellen Revolution. Bei der Uraufführung am 29. Mai 1913 kommt es zum Eklat: Das Pariser Publikum reagiert empört auf die brachialen Melodien des russischen Komponisten und die rohe Choreografie von Vaslav Nijinsky.

Weitere Filme