Producer
Director
Matthias Schmidt
Editor
Genre
Culture
Broadcaster
ZDFtheaterkanal / 3sat / ZDFdokukanal
Length
1 x 30'
Format
Digital Betacam
Year
2005
Theatrescapes
Neues Theater Halle

The actor, director and crime scene commissioner Peter Sodann came to the Landestheater in Halle an der Saale as acting director in 1980, and since the acting ensemble in the old multi-speciality house was not working to capacity, he decided without further ado to build a new theatre.

In 1981, an old cinema hall was converted and the "neue theatre halle" was founded. Today the complex includes the Great Hall, a Court Theatre, a Chamber Theatre, a Puppet Theatre, a gallery, a library with literature published in the GDR between 1945 and 1989, a LiteratureCafe and a theatre pub.

Peter Sodann takes Esther Schweins on a tour of his theatre, visits what is probably the only theatre grave for a theatre cat and shows her the Kulturinsel's bell tower. Among other things, he tells how he and his comrades-in-arms had to overcome all kinds of obstacles from the authorities during the building process; after all, there were neither materials nor construction workers in the GDR for such a project, which was never officially planned.

Theatrescapes: Neues Theater Halle

The actor, director and crime scene commissioner Peter Sodann came to the Landestheater in Halle an der Saale as acting director in 1980, and since the acting ensemble in the old multi-speciality house was not working to capacity, he decided without further ado to build a new theatre.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Matthias Schmidt
Editor
Genre
Kultur
Sender
ZDFtheaterkanal / 3sat / ZDFdokukanal
Länge
1 x 30'
Format
Digital Betacam
Jahr
2005
Theaterlandschaften
Neues Theater Halle

Der Schauspieler, Regisseur und Tatort-Kommissar Peter Sodann kommt 1980 als Schauspieldirektor ans Landestheater nach Halle an der Saale und da das Schauspiel-Ensemble im alten Mehrsparten-Haus nicht ausgelastet war, beschließt er kurzerhand ein neues Theater zu bauen.

1981 wird ein alter Kinosaal umgebaut und so das „neue theater halle“ begründet. Heute gehören zu dem Komplex der Große Saal, ein Hoftheater, ein Kammertheater, ein Puppentheater, eine Galerie, eine Bibliothek mit der zwischen 1945 und 1989 in der DDR erschienenen Literatur, ein LiteraturCafe und eine Theaterkneipe.

Peter Sodann führt Esther Schweins durch sein Theater, besucht mit ihr die wohl einzige Theatergrabstätte für eine Theaterkatze und zeigt ihr den Glockenturm der Kulturinsel. Er erzählt u.a. wie er und seine Mitstreiter sich beim Bau gegen allerlei Behörden-Hindernisse durchsetzen mussten, es gab in der DDR schließlich weder Material noch Bauarbeiter für ein solches – offiziell nie geplantes – Projekt.

Theaterlandschaften: Neues Theater Halle

Der Schauspieler, Regisseur und Tatort-Kommissar Peter Sodann kommt 1980 als Schauspieldirektor ans Landestheater nach Halle an der Saale und da das Schauspiel-Ensemble im alten Mehrsparten-Haus nicht ausgelastet war, beschließt er kurzerhand ein neues Theater zu bauen.

Weitere Filme