Producer
Director
Dag Freyer & Niels Negendank
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Culture
Broadcaster
ZDFKultur
Length
1 x 30'
Editor
Year
2011
A life beside
Body-Mods

"A life beside" shows bizarre and adventurous life worlds. What drives people to flee, how do they set up their new lives and how big is the difference between them and us "normal citizens"? What is the fascination of the different subcultures? Because apparently they offer something that the "real" world cannot offer people.

Bodymodification - a change of the body that goes beyond simple tattoos and small belly button piercings. Common techniques are, for example, implants made of silicone that are pushed under the skin. Or so-called cutting and branding, in which the skin is scarred by cuts or burns that then leave a pattern. Bodymodification is extremely linked to the culture. For some peoples, it has always been normal to have tattoos or implants. The pain that must be endured in most forms of body modification is always an integral part of the ritual. What drives people to change their bodies so fundamentally or to hang from the ceiling with meat hooks in their backs?

First broadcast: Fri, 12 August 2011, 22:30, ZDF.Kultur.

A Life Missing: Body Mods

"A life beside" shows bizarre and adventurous life worlds. What drives people to flee, how do they set up their new lives and how big is the difference between them and us "normal citizens"? What is the fascination of the different subcultures? Because apparently they offer something that the "real" world cannot offer people.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Dag Freyer & Niels Negendank
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Kultur
Sender
ZDFKultur
Länge
1 x 30'
Editor
Jahr
2011
Ein Leben Daneben
Body-Mods

„Ein Leben daneben“ zeigt skurrile und abenteuerliche Lebenswelten. Was treibt die Menschen zur Flucht, wie richten sie ihr neues Leben ein und wie groß ist der Unterschied eigentlich wirklich zu uns „Normalbürgern“? Welche Faszination üben die unterschiedlichen Subkulturen aus? Denn anscheinend bieten sie etwas, was die „wirkliche“ Welt den Menschen nicht bieten kann.

Bodymodification – eine Veränderung des Körpers, die über einfache Tattoos und kleine Bauchnabelpiercings hinausgeht. Gängige Techniken sind zum Beispiel Implantate aus Silikon, die unter die Haut geschoben werden. Oder sogenannte Cuttings und Brandings, bei denen der Haut durch Schnitte oder Verbrennungen Narben beigebracht werden, die dann ein Muster hinterlassen. Bodymodification ist extrem an den Kulturkreis gebunden. Für manche Völker ist es seit jeher ganz normal, Tätowierungen oder Implantate zu haben. Der Schmerz, den es bei den meisten Formen der Bodymodification auszuhalten gilt, ist immer fester Bestandteil des Rituals. Was treibt Menschen dazu, ihren Körper so grundlegend zu verändern oder sich mit Fleischerhaken im Rücken von der Decke hängen zu lassen?

Erstausstrahlung: Fr., 12. August 2011, 22:30 Uhr, ZDF.Kultur.

Ein Leben Daneben: Body-Mods

„Ein Leben daneben“ zeigt skurrile und abenteuerliche Lebenswelten. Was treibt die Menschen zur Flucht, wie richten sie ihr neues Leben ein und wie groß ist der Unterschied eigentlich wirklich zu uns „Normalbürgern“? Welche Faszination üben die unterschiedlichen Subkulturen aus? Denn anscheinend bieten sie etwas, was die „wirkliche“ Welt den Menschen nicht bieten kann.

Weitere Filme