Year
2020
Length
1 x 52'
Genre
History
Format
16:9 HDTV
Direction
Annebeth Jacobsen, Peter Wolf
Channel
arte
Mythos Deutscher Wald
Erkundung einer Seelenlandschaft

In Germany, the forest is more than the sum of its trees: it is a myth, the backdrop of a great German theatre. Looking at German cultural history, it is easy to recognise the forest as a leitmotif. And as a topos to which one returned again and again in the search for a national identity.

German culture, it is said, is rooted in the forest, at least since Germanic warriors defeated the Romans in the Varus Battle. In the Romantic period, the forest became a place of longing, it was painted, written about and sung about - and at the same time it became a symbol of national sovereignty. The Nazis instrumentalised it for their racist ideology - and the Heimat films of post-war German cinema for their dream image of an ideal world. The environmental movement of the 80s fears for its national shrine during the forest death debate - and activists live in the highest treetops to save trees from being cleared.

Throughout the centuries, the forest has always played a central role in Germany's self-image. How has this relationship changed? Because forest images, like the forests themselves, are constantly changing. With "Myth of the German Forest", filmmakers Annebeth Jacobsen and Peter Wolf take the viewer on a cultural-historical forest walk between forest solitude, forest management, forest dieback, forest ideology and forest love. The film explores the "German soul landscape forest" together with, among others, techno DJ Dominik Eulberg, forest blogger Fee Brauwers, forest owner Stephan Prinz zur Lippe and film lovers Dominik Porschen and Christoph Mathieu.

First broadcast: Wednesday, 23 December 2020, at 22:06 on arte.

Myth of the German Forest - Exploring a Soul Landscape

In Germany, the forest is more than the sum of its trees: it is a myth, the backdrop of a great German theatre. Looking at German cultural history, it is easy to recognise the forest as a leitmotif. And as a topos to which one returned again and again in the search for a national identity.

More films

Jahr
2020
Länge
1 x 52'
Genre
Geschichte
Format
16:9 HDTV
Regie
Annebeth Jacobsen, Peter Wolf
Sender
arte
Mythos Deutscher Wald
Erkundung einer Seelenlandschaft

Der Wald ist in Deutschland mehr als die Summe seiner Bäume: Er ist ein Mythos, Kulisse eines großen deutschen Theaters. Betrachtet man die deutsche Kulturgeschichte, fällt es leicht, den Wald als Leitmotiv zu erkennen. Und als einen Topos, auf den man auf der Suche nach einer nationalen Identität immer wieder zurückkam.

Die deutsche Kultur, so heißt es, wurzele im Wald, spätestens seit germanische Krieger die Römer in der Varusschlacht besiegten. In der Romantik wird der Wald zum Sehnsuchtsort, er wird gemalt, bedichtet und besungen – und zugleich abermals Symbol nationaler Souveränität. Die Nazis instrumentalisieren ihn für ihre rassistische Ideologie – und die Heimatfilme des deutschen Nachkriegskinos für ihr Traumbild einer heilen Welt. Die Umweltbewegung der 80er bangt um ihr Nationalheiligtum während der Waldsterbensdebatte – und Aktivistinnen leben in den höchsten Wipfeln, um Bäume vor der Rodung zu bewahren.

Der Wald hat durch die Jahrhunderte immer eine zentrale Rolle im deutschen Selbstverständnis gespielt. Wie hat sich diese Beziehung verändert? Denn die Waldbilder sind, wie die Wälder selbst, stetig im Wandel. Mit „Mythos Deutscher Wald“ nehmen die Filmemacher Annebeth Jacobsen und Peter Wolf den Zuschauer mit auf einen kulturgeschichtlichen Waldspaziergang zwischen Waldeinsamkeit, Waldwirtschaft, Waldsterben, Waldideologie und Waldliebe. Der Film erkundet die „deutsche Seelenlandschaft Wald“ u.a. gemeinsam mit Techno-DJ Dominik Eulberg, Forst-Bloggerin Fee Brauwers, Waldbesitzer Stephan Prinz zur Lippe und den Filmliebhabern Dominik Porschen und Christoph Mathieu.

Erstausstrahlung: Mittwoch, den 23. Dezember 2020, um 22:06 Uhr auf arte.

Mythos Deutscher Wald – Erkundung einer Seelenlandschaft

Der Wald ist in Deutschland mehr als die Summe seiner Bäume: Er ist ein Mythos, Kulisse eines großen deutschen Theaters. Betrachtet man die deutsche Kulturgeschichte, fällt es leicht, den Wald als Leitmotiv zu erkennen. Und als einen Topos, auf den man auf der Suche nach einer nationalen Identität immer wieder zurückkam.

Weitere Filme