Producer
Director
Niels Negendank
Producer
Digital Betacam
Genre
Culture
Broadcaster
ZDFtheaterkanal / 3sat / ZDFdokukanal
Length
1 x 30'
Editor
Year
2004
Theatrescapes
Theater Aachen

In the very west of North Rhine-Westphalia, just a few kilometres from the border triangle of Germany, Belgium and the Netherlands, lies Aachen. The city owes its fame to the hot sulphurous springs that already attracted people 2000 years ago. Charlemagne in particular appreciated the healing waters and built Aachen into the capital of his empire.

Esther Schweins follows in the footsteps of the great past and introduces the Aachen City Theatre, whose history dates back to 1751. Many famous artists started and worked in Aachen, such as Werner Krauß, Karlheinz Stroux, Hans Schalla, Hansjörg Felmy, Jürgen Prochnow. The world-famous director Max Ophüls was engaged as an actor at the Stadttheater Aachen from 1921-1923. Archive recordings with, among others, Herbert von Karajan, whose career began in Aachen in the early 1930s, bear witness to the time.

Paul Esterhazy has been general director of the Aachen Theatre since the 2000/01 season. Under his leadership, the Aachen Theatre has made a name for itself as a venue for world premieres of music theatre.

The film shows the history of Theater Aachen in the old imperial metropolis. The artistic directors Elmar Ottenthal and Paul Esterhazy and the director Uwe Dag Berlin talk about their work and impressions in Aachen. The film also sheds light on the border city's special relationship with its Dutch neighbours and their lively theatre scene. Interviews with a Member of the European Parliament, the Provost of Aachen Cathedral and a historian highlight Aachen's special significance as a European city.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Niels Negendank
Producer
Digital Betacam
Genre
Kultur
Sender
ZDFtheaterkanal / 3sat / ZDFdokukanal
Länge
1 x 30'
Editor
Jahr
2004
Theaterlandschaften
Theater Aachen

Ganz im Westen Nordrhein-Westfalens, nur wenige Kilometer vom Dreiländereck Deutschland, Belgien und Niederlande entfernt, liegt Aachen. Die Stadt verdankt seinen Ruhm den heißen schwefelhaltigen Quellen, die bereits vor 2000 Jahren die Menschen anzogen. Vor allem Karl der Große schätzte die heilenden Wasser und baute Aachen zur Hauptstadt seines Reiches aus.

Esther Schweins begibt sich auf die Spuren der großen Vergangenheit und stellt das Aachener Stadttheater vor, dessen Geschichte zurück bis 1751 reicht. Viele bekannte Künstler haben in Aachen angefangen und gewirkt, wie z.B. Werner Krauß, Karlheinz Stroux, Hans Schalla, Hansjörg Felmy, Jürgen Prochnow. Der weltberühmte Regisseur Max Ophüls war am Stadttheater Aachen von 1921-1923 als Schauspieler engagiert. Archivaufnahmen u. a. mit Herbert von Karajan, dessen Karriere Anfang der 30er Jahre in Aachen begann, geben Zeugnis über die Zeit ab.

Seit der Spielzeit 2000/01 ist Paul Esterhazy Generalintendant des Aachener Theaters. Unter seiner Leitung hat sich das Theater Aachen besonders als Ort für Musiktheater-Uraufführungen profiliert.

Der Film zeigt die Geschichte des Theater Aachen in der alten Kaisermetropole auf. Die Intendanten Elmar Ottenthal und Paul Esterhazy und der Regisseur Uwe Dag Berlin erzählen von ihren Arbeiten und Eindrücken in Aachen. Außerdem beleuchtet der Film die besonderen Beziehungen der Grenzstadt zu seinen niederländischen Nachbarn und deren lebendiger Theaterszene. Interviews mit einem Europaabgeordneten, dem Domprobst und einem Historiker stellen die besondere Bedeutung Aachens als Europastadt heraus.

Weitere Filme