Year
2003
Length
1 x 30'
Genre
Culture
Format
Digital Betacam
Director
Thomas Riegler
Broadcaster
ZDFtheaterkanal / 3sat / ZDFdokukanal
Theatrescapes
Theater Freiburg

The municipal theatres of Freiburg were founded in 1866 on the initiative of the municipal council. They were intended to give the population the opportunity for a lively engagement with dramatic works.

Lessing and Schiller, among others, were on the programme. In June 1915, all members were dismissed due to the turmoil of the First World War. During an air raid, two bombs hit the theatre and severely damaged it. During the Second World War, the Großes Haus and the Kammerspiele were completely destroyed. However, the Kammerspiele was reopened in September 1946 and the Großes Haus three years later.

The Freiburg Theatre was a career springboard for many artists. Probably the best known among them is Klaus Michael Grüber, who directed in 1967 and later became known in particular for his work at the Schaubühne Berlin. In the 1980s, productions by Andrea Breth, who also later went to the Schaubühne Berlin, brought the Freiburg Theatre nationwide recognition. In the early nineties, under the directorship of Friedrich Schirmer, productions by director Jürgen Kruse with actress Anne Tismer found their way into the German feuilletons. The currently celebrated successful director Michael Thalheimer also began his career in Freiburg.

Since the beginning of the current season, the former head of the Schauspiel Frankfurt, Amélie Niermeyer, has been running the theatre. But now the financial end is threatening. Three million euros are to be saved in Freiburg over the next two seasons. That would mean the end of the three-part stage.

Theatrescapes: Theater Freiburg

The municipal theatres of Freiburg were founded in 1866 on the initiative of the municipal council. They were intended to give the population the opportunity for a lively engagement with dramatic works.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Thomas Riegler
Editor
Genre
Kultur
Sender
ZDFtheaterkanal / 3sat / ZDFdokukanal
Länge
1 x 30'
Format
Digital Betacam
Jahr
2003
Theaterlandschaften
Theater Freiburg

Die städtischen Bühnen Freiburg wurden 1866 aufgrund einer Initiative des Gemeinderats ins Leben gerufen. Sie sollten der Bevölkerung die Möglichkeit zu einer lebendigen Auseinandersetzung mit dramatischen Werken geben.

So standen unter anderem Lessing und Schiller auf dem Spielplan. Im Juni des Jahres 1915 wurde allen Mitgliedern aufgrund der Wirren des 1. Weltkrieges gekündigt. Bei einem Fliegerangriff schlugen zwei Bomben in das Theater ein und beschädigten es stark. Während des 2. Weltkrieges kam es sogar zur völligen Zerstörung des Großen Hauses und der Kammerspiele. Doch schon im September 1946 wurden die Kammerspiele und drei Jahre später das Große Haus wiedereröffnet.

Das Theater Freiburg war für viele Künstler ein Karrieresprungbrett. Der wohl bekannteste unter ihnen ist Klaus Michael Grüber, der 1967 inszenierte und später insbesondere durch seine Arbeiten an der Schaubühne Berlin bekannt wurde. In den achtziger Jahren bescherten Inszenierungen von Andrea Breth, die ebenfalls später an die Schaubühne Berlin ging, dem Theater Freiburg bundesweit Anerkennung. Anfang der neunziger Jahre, unter der Intendanz von Friedrich Schirmer, fanden Inszenierungen des Regisseurs Jürgen Kruse mit der Schauspielerin Anne Tismer Eingang in die deutschen Feuilletons. Auch der derzeit gefeierte Erfolgsregisseur Michael Thalheimer begann seine Karriere in Freiburg.

Seit Beginn der aktuellen Spielzeit führt die ehemalige Oberspielleiterin des Schauspiels Frankfurt, Amélie Niermeyer, das Haus. Doch nun droht das finanzielle Aus. In Freiburg sollen in den nächsten beiden Spielzeiten drei Millionen Euro eingespart werden. Das würde das Ende der Dreispartenbühne bedeuten.

Theaterlandschaften: Theater Freiburg

Die städtischen Bühnen Freiburg wurden 1866 aufgrund einer Initiative des Gemeinderats ins Leben gerufen. Sie sollten der Bevölkerung die Möglichkeit zu einer lebendigen Auseinandersetzung mit dramatischen Werken geben.

Weitere Filme