Producer
Director
Dag Freyer
Producer
Digital Betacam
Genre
Culture
Broadcaster
ZDFtheaterkanal / 3sat / ZDFdokukanal
Length
1 x 30'
Editor
Year
2007
Theatrescapes
Pfalztheater Kaiserslautern

The Betzenberg is probably the most famous place in this football city, but few people know that the largest Japanese garden in Europe is also located here. We are talking about Kaiserslautern. In this episode of Theatre Landscapes, Esther Schweins introduces the city and its new Pfalztheater, which was inaugurated in 1995.

After almost 40 years, the temporary theatre at the Fackelrondell came to an end. The three-part theatre with musical theatre, drama and ballet houses two venues and has its own orchestra and choir. Artistic director Johannes Reitmeier has brought the theatre to national attention, especially with musicals he has written himself. He talks about how he experiences the Palatinate city as a Bavarian, how much football shapes the region and even influences the theatre programme. Opera singer Geertje Nissen has been at the theatre since 1978 and is very involved in cultural exchange with the US-Americans from the nearby bases. And rock singer Andy Kuntz is not only on tour with his band but also sings on the big stage of the Pfalztheater.

Theatrescapes: Pfalztheater Kaiserslautern

The Betzenberg is probably the most famous place in this football city, but few people know that the largest Japanese garden in Europe is also located here. We are talking about Kaiserslautern. In this episode of Theatre Landscapes, Esther Schweins introduces the city and its new Pfalztheater, which was inaugurated in 1995.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Dag Freyer
Editor
Genre
Kultur
Sender
ZDFtheaterkanal / 3sat / ZDFdokukanal
Länge
1 x 30'
Format
Digital Betacam
Jahr
2007
Theaterlandschaften
Pfalztheater Kaiserslautern

Der Betzenberg ist der wohl bekannteste Ort in dieser Fußballstadt, doch dass hier auch der größte japanische Garten Europas angelegt ist, wissen die wenigsten. Die Rede ist von Kaiserslautern. Esther Schweins stellt in dieser Folge der Theaterlandschaften die Stadt und ihr neues Pfalztheater vor, das 1995 eingeweiht wurde.

Nach fast 40 Jahren fand das Theaterprovisorium am Fackelrondell ein Ende. Das Dreispartenhaus mit Musiktheater, Schauspiel und Ballett beherbergt zwei Spielstätten und verfügt über ein eigenes Orchester und einen Hauschor. Intendant Johannes Reitmeier hat insbesondere mit selbstgeschriebenen Musicals dem Haus zu überregionaler Aufmerksamkeit verholfen. Er erzählt, wie er als Bayer die Pfalzstadt erlebt, wie sehr der Fußball die Region prägt und sogar auch den Theaterspielplan beeinflusst. Die Opernsängerin Geertje Nissen ist seit 1978 am Haus und engagiert sich sehr im kulturellen Austausch mit den US-Amerikanern der nah gelegenen Stützpunkte. Und Rocksänger Andy Kuntz ist nicht nur mit seiner Band auf Tour sondern singt auch auf der großen Bühne des Pfalztheaters.

Theaterlandschaften: Pfalztheater Kaiserslautern

Der Betzenberg ist der wohl bekannteste Ort in dieser Fußballstadt, doch dass hier auch der größte japanische Garten Europas angelegt ist, wissen die wenigsten. Die Rede ist von Kaiserslautern. Esther Schweins stellt in dieser Folge der Theaterlandschaften die Stadt und ihr neues Pfalztheater vor, das 1995 eingeweiht wurde.

Weitere Filme