Producer
Director
Bettina Petry
Producer
Digital Betacam
Genre
Culture
Broadcaster
ZDFtheaterkanal / 3sat / ZDFdokukanal
Length
1 x 30'
Editor
Year
2010
Theatrescapes
Theater Koblenz

Koblenz was once one of the most powerful fortress systems in Europe. Today, mainly post-war buildings dominate the picture. Almost 90 percent of the city's area was destroyed during the Second World War. But in the midst of it all stands - miraculously spared - a gem of classicist architecture and a monument to European theater history: the Stadttheater.

The first path in Koblenz almost always leads to the Deutsches Eck, where the Moselle flows into the Rhine. High above, Kaiser Wilhelm is enthroned and looks over to Ehrenbreitstein Fortress. He fought three wars to unify Germany, was first erected here in 1897 - and was deliberately shot off his pedestal by an American bomb in 1945.
After the night of bombing in 1944, not much is left of Koblenz, but the theater is saved; there is only damage caused by extinguishing water to repair. And so it can be reopened as early as the summer of 1946. In the 1980s, the building is then extensively renovated - the original state of 1787 according to the designs of Peter Josef Krahe, including artistic illusion painting, reappears.

In general, the Theater Koblenz is characterized by continuity: There have only been six artistic directors since the war, and they usually stay in Koblenz for a very long time, Hannes Houska even for over 20 years. In the 1980s, he brought the young dramaturg and director Thirza Bruncken to Koblenz, who quickly attracted attention in the national press. Her specialty: premieres of unwieldy texts.
Annegret Ritzel's directorship at the Theater Koblenz is based primarily on big plays and big names, bringing important guests to Koblenz - and opera to Ehrenbreitstein Fortress: "Aida" and "Fidelio" as gigantic open-air spectacles.
Today, Markus Dietze is in charge of the oldest surviving rank theater in Germany, the youngest boss Theater Koblenz has ever had.

First broadcast: 2 March 2010, 19:00, ZDFtheaterkanal.

Theatrescapes: Theater Koblenz

Koblenz was once one of the most powerful fortress systems in Europe. Today, mainly post-war buildings dominate the picture. Almost 90 percent of the city's area was destroyed during the Second World War. But in the midst of it all stands - miraculously spared - a gem of classicist architecture and a monument to European theater history: the Stadttheater.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Bettina Petry
Editor
Genre
Kultur
Sender
ZDFtheaterkanal / 3sat / ZDFdokukanal
Länge
1 x 30'
Format
Digital Betacam
Jahr
2010
Theaterlandschaften
Theater Koblenz

Einst war Koblenz eines der mächtigsten Festungssysteme Europas. Heute prägen vor allem Nachkriegsbauten das Bild. Fast 90 Prozent der Stadtfläche wurden im zweiten Weltkrieg zerstört. Doch mittendrin steht – wie durch ein Wunder verschont – ein Kleinod klassizistischer Architektur und ein Denkmal europäischer Theatergeschichte: Das Stadttheater.

Der erste Weg führt in Koblenz fast immer zum Deutschen Eck, wo die Mosel in den Rhein fließt. Hoch oben thront Kaiser Wilhelm und blickt hinüber zur Festung Ehrenbreitstein. Mit drei Kriegen erkämpfte er die Einigung Deutschlands, wurde 1897 hier erstmalig aufgestellt – und 1945 durch eine amerikanische Bombe gezielt vom Sockel geschossen.
Nach der Bombennacht 1944 ist von Koblenz ist nicht mehr viel übrig, das Theater aber wird gerettet, es gibt es nur Löschwasserschäden zu beseitigen. Und so kann es bereits im Sommer 1946 wieder eröffnet werden. In den 80er Jahren wird das Haus dann aufwändig saniert – der Originalzustand von 1787 nach den Entwürfen von Peter Josef Krahe samt kunstvoller Illusionsmalerei kommt wieder zum Vorschein.

Ãœberhaupt wird das Theater Koblenz von Kontinuität geprägt: Nur sechs Intendanten gibt es seit dem Krieg und die bleiben meist sehr lange in Koblenz, Hannes Houska sogar über 20 Jahre. Der holte in den 80er Jahren die junge Dramaturgin und Regisseurin Thirza Bruncken nach Koblenz, die schnell für Aufmerksamkeit im überregionalen Feuilleton sorgt. Ihre Spezialität: Die Uraufführungen sperriger Texte.
Annegret Ritzel setzt in ihrer Intendanz am Theater Koblenz vor allem auf große Stücke und große Namen, holt bedeutende Gäste nach Koblenz – und die Oper auf die Festung Ehrenbreitstein: „Aida“ und „Fidelio“ als gigantische Freiluft-Spektakel.
Heute leitet Markus Dietze das älteste erhaltene Rangtheater in Deutschland, der jüngste Chef, den das Theater Koblenz je hatte.

Erstausstrahlung: 2. März 2010, 19:00 Uhr, ZDFtheaterkanal.

Theaterlandschaften: Theater Koblenz

Einst war Koblenz eines der mächtigsten Festungssysteme Europas. Heute prägen vor allem Nachkriegsbauten das Bild. Fast 90 Prozent der Stadtfläche wurden im zweiten Weltkrieg zerstört. Doch mittendrin steht – wie durch ein Wunder verschont – ein Kleinod klassizistischer Architektur und ein Denkmal europäischer Theatergeschichte: Das Stadttheater.

Weitere Filme