Producer
Director
Matthias Schmidt
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Biography
Broadcaster
ZDFKultur / arte
Length
1 x 52'
Editor
Year
2012
TOO young TO DIE
Sharon Tate

Quiet and secluded, far away from the noisy, hectic Los Angeles, in the middle of the Beverly Hills Canyons, lies the estate of actress Sharon Tate. Here she wants to raise the child she is expecting from her husband, Roman Polanski. Sharon is eight months pregnant and misses Roman, who has yet to finish a film in Europe. She will never see him again, because on 9 August 1969, 26-year-old Sharon and her unborn child are killed by 16 stab wounds. The perpetrators: Satanists led by the self-proclaimed guru Charles Manson.

The heinous murders of Sharon Tate, her child and friends present not only send the Hollywood community into a state of shock, they also mean the abrupt end of the carefree "Sixties". Thus, the film is not only an intimate portrait of the actress Sharon Tate, who came from a sheltered background, but also sheds light on the zeitgeist of that hippie era. Film clips from Sharon Tate's films as well as interviews with contemporary witnesses such as Roman Polanski, her fellow actors and directors and above all with Sharon's sister Debra Ann Tate paint a very personal picture of the icon of the 60s.

First broadcast: Sat., 4 August 2012, 9:15pm, ARTE.

TOO young TO DIE: Sharon Tate

Quiet and secluded, far away from the noisy, hectic Los Angeles, in the middle of the Beverly Hills Canyons, lies the estate of actress Sharon Tate. Here she wants to raise the child she is expecting from her husband, Roman Polanski. Sharon is eight months pregnant and misses Roman, who has yet to finish a film in Europe. She will never see him again, because on 9 August 1969, 26-year-old Sharon and her unborn child are killed by 16 stab wounds. The perpetrators: Satanists led by the self-proclaimed guru Charles Manson.

More films

Jahr
2012
Länge
1 x 52'
Genre
Biografie
Format
16:9 HDTV
Regie
Matthias Schmidt
Sender
ZDFKultur / arte
TOO young TO DIE
Sharon Tate - Das Ende der Unschuld

Ruhig und abgelegen, weit entfernt vom lauten, hektischen Los Angeles, mitten in den Beverly Hills Canyons, liegt das Anwesen der Schauspielerin Sharon Tate. Hier will sie das Kind großziehen, das sie von ihrem Mann, Roman Polanski, erwartet. Sharon ist im achten Monat schwanger und vermisst Roman, der noch in Europa einen Film beenden muss. Sie wird ihn nie wieder sehen, denn am 9. August 1969 werden die 26-jährige Sharon und ihr ungeborenes Kind durch 16 Messerstiche getötet. Die Täter: Satanisten unter der Führung des selbst ernannten Gurus Charles Manson.

Die abscheulichen Morde an Sharon Tate, Ihrem Kind und anwesenden Freunden versetzen nicht nur die Hollywood-Gemeinde in einen Schockzustand, sie bedeuten auch das abrupte Ende der unbeschwerten „Sixties“. So ist der Film nicht nur ein intimes Portrait der aus einem behüteten Umfeld stammenden Schauspielerin Sharon Tate, sondern beleuchtet auch den Zeitgeist jener Hippie-Ära. Filmausschnitte aus Sharon Tates Filmen sowie Interviews mit Zeitzeugen wie Roman Polanski, ihren Schauspielkollegen und Regisseuren und vor allem mit Sharons Schwester Debra Ann Tate zeichnen ein sehr persönliches Bild der Ikone der 60er Jahre.

Erstausstrahlung: Sa., 4. August 2012, 21:15Uhr, ARTE.

TOO young TO DIE: Sharon Tate – Das Ende der Unschuld

Ruhig und abgelegen, weit entfernt vom lauten, hektischen Los Angeles, mitten in den Beverly Hills Canyons, liegt das Anwesen der Schauspielerin Sharon Tate. Hier will sie das Kind großziehen, das sie von ihrem Mann, Roman Polanski, erwartet. Sharon ist im achten Monat schwanger und vermisst Roman, der noch in Europa einen Film beenden muss. Sie wird ihn nie wieder sehen, denn am 9. August 1969 werden die 26-jährige Sharon und ihr ungeborenes Kind durch 16 Messerstiche getötet. Die Täter: Satanisten unter der Führung des selbst ernannten Gurus Charles Manson.

Weitere Filme