Producer
Director
Jobst Knigge
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Biography
Broadcaster
ZDFKultur / arte
Length
1 x 52'
Editor
Year
2012
TOO young TO DIE
John Belushi

"Killer Belushi" is what John was called in his youth. He is the star of the football team, the drummer in the high school band and a brilliant actor. With irresistible fascination, the meteoric rise of a young man with an explosive temper and an extreme personality takes place. He makes his breakthrough in Chicago in an off-theatre troupe. He becomes a star in his mid-20s in New York with "Saturday Night Live". His "Blues Brothers" albums are million-sellers. Seven films are enough to make John Belushi unforgettable.

The film portrays one of the greatest American show stars of his time, shows the rapid career and the deep fall, gives an incomparable insight into the film and show business of the 70s and 80s and the character of one of its most prominent victims. Interviews with close family members, fellow actors and directors as well as never-before-seen private films from John Belushi's estate paint a sensitive portrait of the brilliant actor and shed light on the background surrounding the tragedy of his early death.

First broadcast: Sat., 14 July 2012, 23:50h, ARTE.

TOO young TO DIE: John Belushi

"Killer Belushi" is what John was called in his youth. He is the star of the football team, the drummer in the high school band and a brilliant actor. With irresistible fascination, the meteoric rise of a young man with an explosive temper and an extreme personality takes place. He makes his breakthrough in Chicago in an off-theatre troupe. He becomes a star in his mid-20s in New York with "Saturday Night Live". His "Blues Brothers" albums are million-sellers. Seven films are enough to make John Belushi unforgettable.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Jobst Knigge
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Biografie
Sender
ZDFKultur / arte
Länge
1 x 52'
Editor
Jahr
2012
TOO young TO DIE
John Belushi - Ein Leben über dem Limit

„Killer Belushi“ wurde John in seiner Jugend genannt. Er ist Star der Footballmannschaft, Schlagzeuger der Highschool Band und genialer Schauspieler. Mit unwiderstehlicher Faszination vollzieht sich der kometenhafte Aufstieg eines jungen Mannes, der explosives Temperament und eine extreme Persönlichkeit besitzt. Seinen Durchbruch schafft er in Chicago in einer Off-Theater Truppe. Zum Star wird mit Mitte 20 in New York mit „Saturday Night Live“. Seine „Blues Brothers“ Alben sind Millionenseller. Sieben Kinofilme reichen, um John Belushi unvergesslich zu machen.

Der Film portraitiert einen der größten amerikanischen Showstars seiner Zeit, zeigt die rasche Karriere und den tiefen Fall, gibt einen unvergleichlichen Einblick in das Film- und Showgeschäft der 70er und 80er Jahre und den Charakter eines seiner prominentesten Opfer. Interviews mit engen Familienangehörigen, Schauspiel-Kollegen und Regisseuren sowie nie gezeigte Privatfilme aus dem Nachlass John Belushis zeichnen ein feinfühliges Portrait des genialen Schauspielers und erhellen die Hintergründe um die Tragödie seines frühen Todes.

Erstausstrahlung: Sa., 14. Juli 2012, 23:50Uhr, ARTE.

TOO young TO DIE: John Belushi – Ein Leben über dem Limit

„Killer Belushi“ wurde John in seiner Jugend genannt. Er ist Star der Footballmannschaft, Schlagzeuger der Highschool Band und genialer Schauspieler. Mit unwiderstehlicher Faszination vollzieht sich der kometenhafte Aufstieg eines jungen Mannes, der explosives Temperament und eine extreme Persönlichkeit besitzt. Seinen Durchbruch schafft er in Chicago in einer Off-Theater Truppe. Zum Star wird mit Mitte 20 in New York mit „Saturday Night Live“. Seine „Blues Brothers“ Alben sind Millionenseller. Sieben Kinofilme reichen, um John Belushi unvergesslich zu machen.

Weitere Filme