Producer
Director
Dag Freyer
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Biography
Broadcaster
3sat
Length
1 x 45'
Editor
Year
2012
Gerhart Hauptmann
Rebel and Representative

He brought the lives of the poorest to the stage and demanded horrendous fees for himself. He was considered a serious candidate for the office of Reich President in the Weimar Republic and revered Adolf Hitler as a "world genius". Gerhart Hauptmann - The Nobel Prize winner and most popular author of his time is a thoroughly contradictory figure right up to the end of his life. On the occasion of his 150th birthday, BROADVIEW TV traces the life of the dazzling poet and playwright in a 45-minute documentary.

The film follows the traces of Gerhart Hauptmann through the imperial era and the Weimar Republic to the end of his life. Hauptmann's experiences in Berlin, in Agnetendorf in Silesia and on the island of Hiddensee are brought to life through rare archive material and above all through high-quality staged scenes. Contemporary witnesses from the family circle, directors and Hauptmann experts comment on the ambivalent character and thus allow a glimpse into the private life of the famous writer.

Gerhart Hauptmann: Rebel and Representative

He brought the lives of the poorest to the stage and demanded horrendous fees for himself. He was considered a serious candidate for the office of Reich President in the Weimar Republic and revered Adolf Hitler as a "world genius". Gerhart Hauptmann - The Nobel Prize winner and most popular author of his time is a thoroughly contradictory figure right up to the end of his life. On the occasion of his 150th birthday, BROADVIEW TV traces the life of the dazzling poet and playwright in a 45-minute documentary.

Awards

More films

Produzent
Regie
Dag Freyer
Editor
Genre
Biografie
Sender
3sat
Länge
1 x 45'
Format
16:9 HDTV
Jahr
2012
Gerhart Hauptmann
Rebell und Repräsentant

Er brachte das Leben der Ärmsten auf die Bühne und verlangte für sich selbst horrende Honorare. Er galt in der Weimarer Republik als ernsthafter Kandidat für das Amt des Reichspräsidenten und verehrte Adolf Hitler als „Weltgenie“. Gerhart Hauptmann – Der Nobelpreisträger und populärste Autor seiner Zeit ist bis an sein Lebensende  eine durch und durch widersprüchliche Erscheinung. Anlässlich seines 150. Geburtstages zeichnet BROADVIEW TV das Leben des schillernden Dichters und Dramatikers in einer 45-minütigen Dokumentation nach.

Der Film folgt den Spuren Gerhart Hauptmanns durch Kaiserzeit und Weimarer Republik bis zum Ende seines Lebens. Hauptmanns Erlebnisse in Berlin, im schlesischen Agnetendorf und auf der Insel Hiddensee werden durch rares Archivmaterial und vor allem durch hochwertig inszenierte Spielszenen zum Leben erweckt. Zeitzeugen aus dem Familienkreis, Regisseure und Hauptmann-Experten äußern sich zu dem ambivalenten Charakter und erlauben damit einen Blick in das private Leben des berühmten Schriftstellers.

Gerhart Hauptmann: Rebell und Repräsentant

Er brachte das Leben der Ärmsten auf die Bühne und verlangte für sich selbst horrende Honorare. Er galt in der Weimarer Republik als ernsthafter Kandidat für das Amt des Reichspräsidenten und verehrte Adolf Hitler als „Weltgenie“. Gerhart Hauptmann – Der Nobelpreisträger und populärste Autor seiner Zeit ist bis an sein Lebensende  eine durch und durch widersprüchliche Erscheinung. Anlässlich seines 150. Geburtstages zeichnet BROADVIEW TV das Leben des schillernden Dichters und Dramatikers in einer 45-minütigen Dokumentation nach.

Auszeichnungen

Weitere Filme