Producer
Director
Annette Baumeister
Producer
HDTV 16:9
Genre
Doku-Reihe
Broadcaster
arte
Length
1 x 52'
Editor
Year
2015
TOO young TO DIE
Bruce Lee

Bruce Lee is the undisputed personification of martial arts cinema. Even today, 40 years after his death. And that despite the fact that he starred in just a handful of films. He was the first Chinese superstar and inspired millions of people around the globe with his work. When he died at the age of 32, an entire nation was in shock. Thousands gathered in the streets, weeping in each other's arms and mourning their national hero.

His rise from Chinese underdog to Hollywood star is legendary. Yet Lee never gives up, always fights on, against all odds. With just one Hollywood film, he revolutionises the action film genre. Lee is an exceptional fighter, brilliant fight choreographer, thoughtful philosopher and sportsman with an iron will. But his discipline takes its toll in 1973. Lee dies at the age of only 32.

But his short career is followed by an impressive afterlife. Bruce Lee: his name, his face, his legacy have become pop culture icons.

"TOO young TO DIE: Bruce Lee - Hollywood's Fist" follows the biography of the greatest martial arts icon of all time and traces his footsteps to the present day. Friends of Lee share their personal memories and artists show how Bruce Lee and his work inspired them.

First broadcast: Saturday, 12 December 2015, 22:05 on arte.

TOO young TO DIE: Bruce Lee

Bruce Lee is the undisputed personification of martial arts cinema. Even today, 40 years after his death. And that despite the fact that he starred in just a handful of films. He was the first Chinese superstar and inspired millions of people around the globe with his work. When he died at the age of 32, an entire nation was in shock. Thousands gathered in the streets, weeping in each other's arms and mourning their national hero.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Annette Baumeister
Editor
Genre
Doku-Reihe
Sender
arte
Länge
1 x 52'
Format
HDTV 16:9
Jahr
2015
TOO young TO DIE
Bruce Lee – Die Faust Hollywoods

Bruce Lee ist die unangefochtene Personifikation des Martial Arts-Kinos. Auch heute noch, 40 Jahre nach seinem Tod. Und das, obwohl er in gerade mal einer Handvoll Filme spielte. Er war der erste chinesische Superstar und inspirierte Millionen Menschen rund um den Globus mit seinem Schaffen. Als er mit 32 Jahren stirbt, steht eine ganze Nation unter Schock. Tausende sammeln sich auf den Straßen, liegen sich weinend in den Armen und trauern um ihren Volkshelden.

Sein Aufstieg vom chinesischen Underdog zum Hollywoodstar ist legendär. Dabei gibt Lee niemals auf, kämpft immer weiter, gegen alle Widerstände. Mit nur einem einzigen Hollywood-Film revolutioniert er das Genre des Actionfilms. Lee ist ein exzeptioneller Kämpfer, brillanter Kampfchoreograph, nachdenklicher Philosoph und Sportsmann mit eisernem Willen. Doch seine Disziplin fordert 1973 ihren Tribut. Lee stirbt mit nur 32 Jahren.

Doch seiner kurzen Karriere folgt ein imposantes Nachleben. Bruce Lee: Sein Name, sein Gesicht, sein Vermächtnis sind zu Ikonen der Popkultur geworden.

„TOO young TO DIE: Bruce Lee – Die Faust Hollywoods“ folgt der Biographie der größten Kampfkunst-Ikone aller Zeiten und verfolgt seine Spuren bis in die heutige Zeit. Freunde Lees teilen ihre persönlichen Erinnerungen und Künstler zeigen, wie Bruce Lee und sein Werk sie inspiriert hat.

Erstausstrahlung: Samstag, den 12. Dezember 2015, 22:05 Uhr auf arte.

TOO young TO DIE: Bruce Lee – Die Faust Hollywoods

Bruce Lee ist die unangefochtene Personifikation des Martial Arts-Kinos. Auch heute noch, 40 Jahre nach seinem Tod. Und das, obwohl er in gerade mal einer Handvoll Filme spielte. Er war der erste chinesische Superstar und inspirierte Millionen Menschen rund um den Globus mit seinem Schaffen. Als er mit 32 Jahren stirbt, steht eine ganze Nation unter Schock. Tausende sammeln sich auf den Straßen, liegen sich weinend in den Armen und trauern um ihren Volkshelden.

Weitere Filme