Year
2021
Length
1 x 52'
Genre
Royalty
Format
n/a
Direction
Julia Melchior
Channel
ZDF / Arte
Prinzgemahle
In the shadow of the crown

No profession, no say, no freedom of expression. Life as a prince consort is not exactly pleasure taxing. No constitution ascribes any function to the husband of a queen. Nowhere does it say what he must or must not do. A life in the shadow of the crown. Can that go well?

History knows many prince consorts. Some have broken with their role, others were good at exploiting the vacuum. One can hardly imagine the Queen without Prince Philip. For more than 70 years he has stood his ground at the side of the most famous woman in the world. And he himself has legendary status, not only thanks to his snappy sayings. Against internal and external resistance, he has succeeded in becoming the integration figure of the British Kingdom and an icon of the present day. Monarchy is teamwork. A partner at eye level is worth its weight in gold. Two other prince consorts have also shown this: Prince Albert of Saxe-Coburg, husband of the legendary Queen Victoria, and Claus von Amsberg, husband of the former Dutch Queen Beatrix.

Filmmaker Julia Melchior illuminates the biographies of Prince Philip, Prince Albert and Prince Claus in an anecdote-rich and multi-layered way and analyses the light and dark sides in the lives of these prince consorts. Even though the three met their fates differently, they have one thing in common: the stable marriage on which their wives were able to build their reign. Thus the film shows that while prince consort is a thankless supporting role, it is also an indispensable one.

Prinzgemahle - In the Shadow of the Crown

No profession, no say, no freedom of expression. Life as a prince consort is not exactly pleasure taxing. No constitution ascribes any function to the husband of a queen. Nowhere does it say what he must or must not do. A life in the shadow of the crown. Can that go well?

More films

Produzent
Regie
Julia Melchior
Producer
n/a
Genre
Royals
Sender
ZDF / Arte
Länge
1 x 52'
Editor
Jahr
2021
Prinzgemahle
Im Schatten der Krone

Kein Beruf, kein Mitspracherecht, keine freie Meinungsäußerung. Das Leben als Prinzgemahl ist nicht gerade vergnügungssteuerpflichtig. In keiner Verfassung wird dem Mann einer Königin eine Funktion zugeschrieben. Nirgends steht, was er zu tun oder zu lassen hat. Ein Leben im Schatten der Krone. Kann das gut gehen?

Die Geschichte kennt viele Prinzgemahle. Manche sind an ihrer Rolle zerbrochen, andere verstanden sich gut darauf, das Vakuum zu nutzen. Die Queen kann man sich ohne Prinz Philip kaum vorstellen. Seit mehr als 70 Jahren steht er seinen Mann an der Seite der berühmtesten Frau der Welt. Dabei hat er selbst Legendenstatus, nicht nur dank seiner flotten Sprüche. Gegen innere und äußere Widerstände ist es ihm gelungen, zur Integrationsfigur des britischen Königreichs und einer Ikone der Gegenwart zu werden. Monarchie ist Teamarbeit. Ein Partner auf Augenhöhe Goldes wert. Das haben auch zwei andere Prinzgemahle gezeigt: Prinz Albert von Sachsen-Coburg, Ehemann der legendären Queen Victoria, und Claus von Amsberg, der Mann der ehemaligen niederländischen Königin Beatrix.

Anekdotenreich und vielschichtig beleuchtet Filmemacherin Julia Melchior die Biografien von Prinz Philip, Prinz Albert und Prinz Claus und analysiert die Licht- und Schattenseiten im Leben dieser Prinzgemahle. Auch wenn die drei ihrem Schicksal unterschiedlich begegnet sind, so eint sie doch eines: Die stabile Ehe, auf der ihre Frauen ihre Herrschaft bauen konnten. So zeigt der Film, dass Prinzgemahl zwar eine undankbare Nebenrolle ist, aber auch eine unverzichtbare.

Prinzgemahle – Im Schatten der Krone

Kein Beruf, kein Mitspracherecht, keine freie Meinungsäußerung. Das Leben als Prinzgemahl ist nicht gerade vergnügungssteuerpflichtig. In keiner Verfassung wird dem Mann einer Königin eine Funktion zugeschrieben. Nirgends steht, was er zu tun oder zu lassen hat. Ein Leben im Schatten der Krone. Kann das gut gehen?

Weitere Filme