Producer
Director
Julia Melchior
Producer
Leopold Hoesch
Genre
Documentary
Broadcaster
ZDF
Length
1 x 45'
Editor
Year
2012
The little queens are coming
New blood for the monarchy

With the latest addition to Europe's royal families, Swedish Princess Estelle, five little queens are growing up to one day ascend a throne: Elizabeth of Belgium, Catharina-Amalia of the Netherlands, Ingrid Alexandra of Norway, Leonor of Spain and Estelle. There has never been so much female power in history.

Until a few years ago, female succession to the throne was anything but a matter of course. In 1980, Sweden was the first kingdom in Europe to change its constitution: whether daughter or son, the first-born child inherits the throne here. As the only woman among Europe's heirs to the throne, Crown Princess Victoria of Sweden did not always have it easy. As a teenager she struggled with her fate. She had to fight for her Daniel for years. But she prevailed, went unconventional ways and gained respect. Today, the heir to the Swedish throne leads the royal hit list. As the figurehead of a new generation, her place in the history books is assured.

Embedded in a portrait of Crown Princess Victoria, the film introduces the little superstars of tomorrow. How are the girls in the 21st century prepared for their role? What role models from history will they be measured against? What can they learn from the monarchs of today? And what has Crown Princess Victoria achieved for the new generation? In The Age of Queens, Julia Melchior's film is dedicated for the first time to the role of women at the head of European kingdoms - past, present and future.

First broadcast: Saturday, 07 July 2012, 19:25, ZDF.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Julia Melchior
Editor
Genre
Dokumentation
Sender
ZDF
Länge
1 x 45'
Format
Leopold Hoesch
Jahr
2012
Die kleinen Königinnen kommen
Nachwuchs für die Monarchie

Mit dem jüngsten Zuwachs in Europas Königshäusern, der schwedischen Prinzessin Estelle, wachsen fünf kleine Königinnen heran, die eines Tages einen Thron besteigen werden: Elisabeth von Belgien, Catharina-Amalia der Niederlande, Ingrid Alexandra von Norwegen, Leonor von Spanien und Estelle. So viel Frauenpower hat es in der Geschichte noch nie gegeben.

Die weibliche Thronfolge war bis vor wenigen Jahren alles andere als selbstverständlich. Als erstes Königreich in Europa änderte Schweden 1980 seine Verfassung: Ob Tochter oder Sohn, das erstgeborene Kind erbt hier den Thron. Als einzige Frau unter Europas Thronfolgern hatte es Kronprinzessin Victoria von Schweden nicht immer leicht. Als Teenager haderte sie mit ihrem Schicksal. Für ihren Daniel musste sie jahrelang kämpfen. Aber sie hat sich durchgesetzt, ist unkonventionelle Wege gegangen und hat sich Respekt verschafft. Heute führt die schwedische Thronerbin die royale Hitliste an. Als Galionsfigur einer neuen Generation ist ihr der Platz in den Geschichtsbüchern sicher.

Eingebettet in ein Porträt von Kronprinzessin Victoria, stellt der Film die kleinen Superstars von morgen vor. Wie werden die Mädchen im 21. Jahrhundert auf ihre Rolle vorbereitet? An welchen Vorbildern der Geschichte werden sie gemessen? Was können sie von den Monarchinnen der Gegenwart lernen? Und was hat Kronprinzessin Victoria für die neue Generation erreicht? Im Zeitalter der Königinnen widmet sich der Film von Julia Melchior erstmals der Rolle der Frau an der Spitze der europäischen Königreiche – in Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft.

Erstausstrahlung: Samstag, 07. Juli 2012, 19:25 Uhr, ZDF.

Weitere Filme