Producer
Vera Bertram & Felix Gottschalk
Director
Julia Melchior
Producer
n/a
Genre
Royalty
Broadcaster
ZDF
Length
1 x 45'
Editor
Lars Roland
Year
2021
Royal Heirs
The Gamechangers

Royal house expert Julia Melchior takes a multi-layered look at three memorable dropouts from Europe's royal houses and sheds light on their backgrounds, providing new insights into the royal house system and the biographies of Harry, Friso and Märtha Louise.

The "Megxit" in January 2020 is still causing a stir. Prince Harry is working through his fate in a media-friendly way: The press, the expectations, the customs. He felt "trapped in the system" of royalty, from which he has now freed himself and his small family. No office in sight and yet in the limelight. Hardly any duties, but many privileges. Apparently, the siblings of the heirs to the throne lead the easier life, but does that also make them happier people?

Queen Beatrix and Prince Claus of the Netherlands gave their younger sons the chance of a self-determined life: study, job, personal responsibility was the parental motto in the 1980s. Princes Friso and Constantijn have shown that royalty and career can be reconciled. But Friso had to give up his place in the line of succession for his wife Mabel. Parliament did not want to approve the marriage. Away from the public eye, the top manager and family man led a fulfilled life that ended tragically in 2013.

For Märtha Louise of Norway, her marriage to the scene poet Ari Behn was the self-chosen step into the longed-for freedom. She had always felt like two people, the princess and the person Märtha Louise. But even today, almost 20 years after she left the royal family, her origins still determine her life. Whether it's her job, her world view or her love, the public is involved in the debate.

First broadcast: Tuesday, 13 July 2021, 21:00 on ZDF.

More films

Jahr
2021
Länge
1 x 45'
Genre
Royals
Format
n/a
Regie
Julia Melchior
Sender
ZDF
Royale Erben
Die Aussteiger

Vielschichtig betrachtet Königshausexpertin Julia Melchior drei denkwürdige Aussteiger aus Europas Königshäusern und beleuchtet die Hintergründe, die neue Einblicke geben in das System Königshaus und die Biografien von Harry, Friso und Märtha Louise.

Der „Megxit“ im Januar 2020 sorgt noch immer für Wirbel. Medienwirksam arbeitet Prinz Harry sein Schicksal auf: Die Presse, die Erwartungen, die Gepflogenheiten. Er fühlte sich „gefangen im System“ Königshaus, aus dem er sich und seine kleine Familie nun befreit hat. Kein Amt in Sicht und doch im Rampenlicht. Kaum Pflichten, aber viele Privilegien. Scheinbar führen die Geschwister der Thronfolger das leichtere Leben, aber macht sie das auch zu glücklicheren Menschen?

Königin Beatrix und Prinz Claus der Niederlande gaben ihren jüngeren Söhnen die Chance auf ein selbstbestimmtes Leben: Studium, Job, Eigenverantwortung lautete die elterliche Devise in den 1980er Jahren. Die Prinzen Friso und Constantijn haben gezeigt, dass sich Königshaus und Karriere miteinander vereinbaren lassen. Doch für seine Frau Mabel musste Friso auf seinen Platz in der Thronfolge verzichten. Das Parlament wollte der Ehe nicht zustimmen. Abseits der Öffentlichkeit führte der Top-Manager und Familienvater ein erfülltes Leben, das 2013 auf tragische Weise endete.

Für Märtha Louise von Norwegen war ihre Hochzeit mit dem Szene-Poeten Ari Behn der selbst gewählte Schritt in die ersehnte Freiheit. Sie hatte sich stets wie zwei Menschen gefühlt, die Prinzessin und die Person Märtha Louise. Doch auch heute, fast 20 Jahre nach ihrem Austritt aus dem Königshaus, bestimmt ihre Herkunft ihr Leben. Ob beim Job, der Weltanschauung oder der Liebe, die Öffentlichkeit diskutiert mit.

Erstausstrahlung: Dienstag, den 13. Juli 2021, 21:00 Uhr im ZDF.

Weitere Filme