Year
2019
Length
1 x 52'
Genre
Sports
Producer
Leopold Hoesch
Direction
Annebeth Jacobsen
Channel
ARTE G.E.I.E.
Amerikanischer Held
Die Geschichte des Colin Kaepernick

What happens when freedom of expression and patriotism collide? US football star Colin Kaepernick learned the hard way. In 2016, he became world famous with a simple gesture. Instead of standing up during the national anthem traditionally sung before sporting events, he knelt down - and plunged the USA into a tangible political crisis.

In the film, companions such as Kaepernick's ex-coach Chris Ault, athletes such as football star Lilian Thuram and experts such as commentator Patrick Esume have their say. Director Annebeth Jacobsen sheds light on the scandal and at the same time traces the football player's biography.

Kaepernick grew up as an adopted child with white parents. He learned early on what it means to be black in a white world. Professionally, his dream came true: as a quarterback at the top of the American professional league. He became one of the most famous athletes in the USA - and decided to use that to make a statement against racist police violence. In 2016, he took a knee during the anthem. A scandal in the USA. For some, Kaepernick was a hero - for others, a traitor to the fatherland. But many followed him. "Take a Knee" became a movement - and a political issue. Donald Trump even demanded that the "sons of bitches" who disrespected the flag should be "fired". And indeed: Kaepernick became unemployed - and remains so to this day. Too great, it seems, is the economic risk of signing the polarising quarterback. Kaepernick sacrificed his career - but with his genuflection he has secured a place in the history books.

An American Hero: The Story of Colin Kaepernick

What happens when freedom of expression and patriotism collide? US football star Colin Kaepernick learned the hard way. In 2016, he became world famous with a simple gesture. Instead of standing up during the national anthem traditionally sung before sporting events, he knelt down - and plunged the USA into a tangible political crisis.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Annebeth Jacobsen
Producer
Leopold Hoesch
Genre
Sport
Sender
ARTE G.E.I.E.
Länge
1 x 52'
Editor
Jahr
2019
Amerikanischer Held
Die Geschichte des Colin Kaepernick

Was passiert, wenn Meinungsfreiheit und Patriotismus aufeinanderprallen? US-Footballstar Colin Kaepernick hat es auf die harte Tour gelernt. 2016 wurde er mit einer simplen Geste weltberühmt. Statt während der traditionell vor Sportevents gesungenen Nationalhymne aufzustehen, kniete er nieder – und stürzte die USA in eine handfeste politische Krise.

Im Film kommen Wegbegleiter wie Kaepernicks Ex-Trainer Chris Ault, Sportler wie Fußballstar Lilian Thuram und Experten wie Kommentator Patrick Esume zu Wort. Regisseurin Annebeth Jacobsen beleuchtet den Skandal und zeichnet zugleich die Biografie des Footballspielers nach.

Kaepernick wuchs als Adoptivkind bei weißen Eltern auf. Schon früh lernte er, was es heißt, schwarz zu sein in einer weißen Welt. Beruflich wurde sein Traum wahr: als Quarterback an der Spitze der amerikanischen Profiliga. Er wurde einer der bekanntesten Sportler der USA – und beschloss, das zu nutzen, um ein Zeichen gegen rassistische Polizeigewalt zu setzen. 2016 ging er während der Hymne auf die Knie. In den USA ein Skandal. Für manche war Kaepernick ein Held – für andere ein Vaterlandsverräter. Doch viele folgten ihm. „Take a Knee“ wurde zur Bewegung – und zum Politikum. Donald Trump forderte gar, man solle die „Hurensöhne“, die die Flagge nicht respektierten, „feuern“. Und tatsächlich: Kaepernick wurde arbeitslos – und ist es bis heute. Zu groß, so scheint es, ist das ökonomische Risiko, den polarisierenden Quarterback zu verpflichten. Seine Karriere hat Kaepernick geopfert – doch mit seinem Kniefall hat er sich einen Platz in den Geschichtsbüchern gesichert.

Ein Amerikanischer Held: Die Geschichte des Colin Kaepernick

Was passiert, wenn Meinungsfreiheit und Patriotismus aufeinanderprallen? US-Footballstar Colin Kaepernick hat es auf die harte Tour gelernt. 2016 wurde er mit einer simplen Geste weltberühmt. Statt während der traditionell vor Sportevents gesungenen Nationalhymne aufzustehen, kniete er nieder – und stürzte die USA in eine handfeste politische Krise.

Weitere Filme