Year
2008
Length
1 x 45'
Genre
Biographies
Format
16:9 HDTV
Director
Sebastian Dehnhardt, Manfred Oldenburg
Broadcaster
ZDF
Franz Joseph Strauß
A German History: Part 2 - The King of Bavaria

Franz Josef Strauß - on the one hand the loud and determined politician, on the other hand the quiet and loving family man. Close family members and party members provide new insights into the life of the controversial CSU politician.

He never achieved his dream of becoming chancellor. At his rallies, Strauß is defamed by parts of the population as a Nazi and warmonger. Outwardly he pretends to be unmoved, but at home he breaks down crying. For the first time, Monika Hohlmeier tells of her father's pain at the furious attacks of his opponents. She and her brother Franz Georg Strauß give a deep and intimate insight into the soul life of their father, who in private was so very different from the public Strauß. The early private recordings also show a never-before-seen Strauß: a loving, attentive family man.

But family and career are thrown into crisis by an affair. The 53-year-old finance minister has fallen in love with a 17-year-old high school graduate and wants to start a new life with her. His party friends are horrified. For the first time Theo Waigel talks about how the CSU took the affair and what consequences a break-up with Marianne would have had for Strauß' career.

The documentary by Sebastian Dehnhardt and Manfred Oldenburg illuminates the politician's life from different perspectives and shows a side of Franz Joseph Strauß that has remained hidden from the public until now.

First broadcast: Tues., 7 October 2008, 8:15 p.m., ZDF.

Franz Joseph Strauss. A German History: Part 2 - The King of Bavaria

Franz Josef Strauß - on the one hand the loud and determined politician, on the other hand the quiet and loving family man. Close family members and party members provide new insights into the life of the controversial CSU politician.

Watch now

More films

Produzent
Regie
Sebastian Dehnhardt, Manfred Oldenburg
Editor
Genre
Biografien
Sender
ZDF
Länge
1 x 45'
Format
16:9 HDTV
Jahr
2008
Franz Joseph Strauß
Eine deutsche Geschichte: Teil 2 - Der König von Bayern

Franz Josef Strauß – einerseits der laute und bestimmte Politiker, andererseits der ruhige und liebevolle Familienvater. Enge Familienangehörige und Parteimitglieder geben neue Einblicke in das Leben des umstrittenen CSU-Politikers.

Seinen Traum, Kanzler zu werden, hat er nie erreicht. Auf seinen Kundgebungen wird Strauß von Teilen der Bevölkerung als Nazi und Kriegstreiber diffamiert. Nach außen gibt er sich ungerührt, doch zuhause bricht er weinend zusammen. Zum ersten Mal erzählt Monika Hohlmeier vom Schmerz des Vaters über die wütenden Angriffe seiner Gegner. Sie und ihr Bruder Franz Georg Strauß geben einen tiefen und intimen Einblick in das Seelenleben ihres Vaters, der privat so ganz anders war, als der öffentliche Strauß. Auch die frühen Privataufnahmen zeigen einen noch nie gesehenen Strauß: Ein liebevoller, aufmerksamer Familienmensch.

Doch Familie und Karriere werden durch eine Affäre in eine Krise gestürzt. Der 53-jährige Finanzminister hat sich in eine 17-jährige Abiturientin verliebt und will mit ihr ein neues Leben anfangen. Die Parteifreunde sind entsetzt. Erstmalig spricht Theo Waigel darüber, wie die CSU die Affäre aufnahm und welche Konsequenzen eine Trennung von Marianne für die Karriere von Strauß gehabt hätte.

Die Dokumentation von Sebastian Dehnhardt und Manfred Oldenburg beleuchtet das Leben des Politikers aus verschiedenen Perspektiven und zeigt eine Seite von Franz Joseph Strauß, die der Öffentlichkeit bisher verborgen blieb.

Erstausstrahlung: Di., 7. Oktober 2008, 20:15 Uhr, ZDF.

Franz Joseph Strauß. Eine deutsche Geschichte: Teil 2 – Der König von Bayern

Franz Josef Strauß – einerseits der laute und bestimmte Politiker, andererseits der ruhige und liebevolle Familienvater. Enge Familienangehörige und Parteimitglieder geben neue Einblicke in das Leben des umstrittenen CSU-Politikers.

Jetzt ansehen

Weitere Filme