Year
2020
Length
1 x 89'
Genre
Politics
Producer
Leopold Hoesch
Direction
Michael Wech
Channel
arte
„Hello, Dictator“
Orbán, the EU and the rule of law

It is a play for power and billions. Since the summer of 2020, the majority of EU member states have been fighting to make the allocation of EU funds conditional. Only those who abide by democratic rules should receive funds in the future. A rule-of-law mechanism is to guarantee this. Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orbán is vehemently opposed. With good reason?

He has long been targeted by critics. In "Hello, Dictator," Luxembourg Foreign Minister Jean Asselborn calls Hungary a "shackled democracy." The European community of values is struggling to find its stance. For months. With his blackmailing veto, Orbán plunges the EU into a deep crisis, in which Chancellor Merkel finally mediates. Is it appeasement with the autocrat? Director Michael Wech goes on a search for clues throughout Europe in his analytical road-movie. Disaster transformed. 39,000 submariners fought on 863 boats - more than 27,000 did not return.

„Hello, Dictator“ Orbán, the EU and the rule of law

It is a play for power and billions. Since the summer of 2020, the majority of EU member states have been fighting to make the allocation of EU funds conditional. Only those who abide by democratic rules should receive funds in the future. A rule-of-law mechanism is to guarantee this. Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orbán is vehemently opposed. With good reason?

Awards

More films

Produzent
Regie
Michael Wech
Producer
Leopold Hoesch
Genre
Politik
Sender
arte
Länge
1 x 89'
Editor
Jahr
2020
„Hallo, Diktator“
Orbán, die EU und die Rechtsstaatlichkeit

Es ist ein Schauspiel um Macht und Milliarden. Seit Sommer 2020 kämpft die Mehrheit der EU-Staaten dafür, die Vergabe von EU-Mitteln an Bedingungen zu knüpfen. Nur wer sich an demokratische Spielregeln hält, soll zukünftig Gelder bekommen. Ein Rechtsstaatsmechanismus soll dies gewährleisten. Der ungarische Premierminister Viktor Orbán wehrt sich vehement. Aus gutem Grund?

Er steht schon lange im Visier der Kritiker. In „Hallo, Diktator“ bezeichnet der luxemburgische Außenminister Jean Asselborn Ungarn als „gefesselte Demokratie“. Die Europäische Wertegemeinschaft ringt um ihre Haltung. Über Monate. Mit seinem erpresserischen Veto stürzt Orbán die EU in eine tiefe Krise, in der Bundeskanzlerin Merkel schließlich vermittelt. Ist es ein Appeasement mit dem Autokraten? Regisseur Michael Wech begibt sich in seinem analytischen road-movie auf Spurensuche in ganz Europa. Desaster verwandelte. 39.000 U-Bootfahrer kämpften auf 863 Booten – mehr als 27.000 kehrten nicht zurück.

„Hallo, Diktator“ – Orbán, die EU und die Rechtsstaatlichkeit

Es ist ein Schauspiel um Macht und Milliarden. Seit Sommer 2020 kämpft die Mehrheit der EU-Staaten dafür, die Vergabe von EU-Mitteln an Bedingungen zu knüpfen. Nur wer sich an demokratische Spielregeln hält, soll zukünftig Gelder bekommen. Ein Rechtsstaatsmechanismus soll dies gewährleisten. Der ungarische Premierminister Viktor Orbán wehrt sich vehement. Aus gutem Grund?

Auszeichnungen

Weitere Filme