Producer
Director
Sebastian Dehnhardt, Manfred Oldenburg
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Biographies
Broadcaster
ZDF
Length
1 x 45'
Editor
Year
2008
Franz Joseph Strauß
A German History: Part 1 - The Rising Star

He was the most enigmatic politician in post-war German history. For some he was the "Saint Franz Josef", for others a dangerous and corrupt brute politician. If any politician polarised, it was Franz Josef Strauß.

3 October 2008 marks the 20th anniversary of the death of Bavarian Prime Minister Franz Josef Strauß. Together with ZDF, the authors Sebastian Dehnhardt and Manfred Oldenburg take a look behind the façade of the highly intelligent, rhetorically brilliant, but also highly controversial politician and visionary. Who was Strauß? What drove him? And why was he never able to achieve his goal of becoming chancellor?

Contemporary witnesses from the closest circle of friends and family speak openly about the contentious spirit and ambivalent character. They shed light on his life, the personal background and the private ups and downs of the exceptional politician and reveal hitherto unknown sides of a story that is at the same time a piece of West German history.

Tue, 30 September 2008, 20:15, ZDF.

Franz Joseph Strauß. A German History: Part 1 - The Rising Star

He was the most enigmatic politician in post-war German history. For some he was the "Saint Franz Josef", for others a dangerous and corrupt brute politician. If any politician polarised, it was Franz Josef Strauß.

Watch now

More films

Jahr
2008
Länge
1 x 45'
Genre
Biografien
Format
16:9 HDTV
Regie
Sebastian Dehnhardt, Manfred Oldenburg
Sender
ZDF
Franz Joseph Strauß
Eine deutsche Geschichte: Teil 1 - Der Aufsteiger

Er war der schillerndste Politiker der bundesdeutschen Nachkriegsgeschichte. Für die einen war er der „Heilige Franz Josef“, für die anderen ein gefährlicher und korrupter Brachialpolitiker. Wenn ein Politiker polarisierte, so war es Franz Josef Strauß.

Am 3. Oktober 2008 jährt sich der Tod des bayerischen Ministerpräsidenten Franz Josef Strauß zum 20. Mal. Gemeinsam mit dem ZDF blicken die Autoren Sebastian Dehnhardt und Manfred Oldenburg hinter die Fassade des hochintelligenten, rhetorisch brillanten, aber auch höchst umstrittenen Politikers und Visionärs. Wer war Strauß? Was trieb ihn an? Und warum konnte er nie sein Ziel erreichen, Kanzler zu werden?

Zeitzeugen aus dem engsten Freundes- und Familienkreis äußern sich offen über den streitbaren Geist und ambivalenten Charakter. Sie beleuchten sein Leben, die persönlichen Hintergründe und die privaten Höhen und Tiefen des Ausnahmepolitikers und decken bislang unbekannte Seiten einer Geschichte auf, die gleichzeitig ein Stück bundesdeutscher Geschichte ist.

Di., 30. September 2008, 20:15 Uhr, ZDF.

Franz Joseph Strauß. Eine deutsche Geschichte: Teil 1 – Der Aufsteiger

Er war der schillerndste Politiker der bundesdeutschen Nachkriegsgeschichte. Für die einen war er der „Heilige Franz Josef“, für die anderen ein gefährlicher und korrupter Brachialpolitiker. Wenn ein Politiker polarisierte, so war es Franz Josef Strauß.

Jetzt ansehen

Weitere Filme