Producer
Director
Manfred Oldenburg
Editor
Genre
Sports
Broadcaster
ZDf
Length
1 x 45'
Format
Digital Betacam
Year
2006
The darned third goal
Wembley '66 - The True Story

Probably no decision in football history is as controversial as England's third goal in the 1966 World Cup final against Germany: Goal or no goal? Manfred Oldenburg received the Bavarian Television Award in 2007 for his documentary.

It is the 101st minute of extra time in the final. With the score at 2:2, England's Geoffrey Hurst hits the ball against the lower edge of the German crossbar, from where it bounces vertically downwards and back into the field. The Swiss referee Dienst decides: Goal. The final is decided. For 40 years, no camera perspective could clarify whether the ball was actually behind the line. Thanks to new, spectacular film finds and scientific calculations, this 45-minute documentary finally sheds light on the most painful German football defeat.

First broadcast: Sun., 04 June 2006, 23:40, ZDF.

The darn third goal: Wembley '66 - The true story

Probably no decision in football history is as controversial as England's third goal in the 1966 World Cup final against Germany: Goal or no goal? Manfred Oldenburg received the Bavarian Television Award in 2007 for his documentary.

More films

Jahr
2006
Länge
1 x 45'
Genre
Sport
Format
Digital Betacam
Regie
Manfred Oldenburg
Sender
ZDf
Das verflixte dritte Tor
Wembley '66 – Die wahre Geschichte

Wohl keine Entscheidung der Fußballgeschichte ist so umstritten wie Englands dritter Treffer im WM-Finale 1966 gegen Deutschland: Tor oder nicht Tor? Für seine Dokumentation erhielt Manfred Oldenburg 2007 den Bayerischen Fernsehpreis.

Es ist die 101. Minute der Verlängerung des Finalspiels. Beim Stand von 2:2 jagt der Engländer Geoffrey Hurst den Ball gegen die Unterkante der deutschen Querlatte, von dort prallt er senkrecht nach unten ab und springt ins Feld zurück. Der Schweizer Schiedsrichter Dienst entscheidet: Tor. Das Finale ist entschieden. 40 Jahre lang konnte keine Kameraperspektive klären, ob der Ball tatsächlich hinter der Linie war. Dank neuer, spektakulärer Filmfunde und wissenschaftlicher Berechnungen bringt die 45minütige Dokumentation endlich Licht ins Dunkel der schmerzlichsten deutschen Fußballniederlage.

Erstausstrahlung: So., 04. Juni 2006, 23:40 Uhr, ZDF.

Das verflixte dritte Tor: Wembley ’66 – Die wahre Geschichte

Wohl keine Entscheidung der Fußballgeschichte ist so umstritten wie Englands dritter Treffer im WM-Finale 1966 gegen Deutschland: Tor oder nicht Tor? Für seine Dokumentation erhielt Manfred Oldenburg 2007 den Bayerischen Fernsehpreis.

Weitere Filme