Producer
Director
Sebastian Dehnhardt
Producer
35mm
Genre
Kino-Dokumentarfilm
Broadcaster
Majestic
Length
1 x 110'
Editor
Year
2011
KLITSCHKO

Vitali and Wladimir Klitschko. Two extraordinary brothers. Icons, role models and heroes of the masses. The two Ukrainian giants came to Germany in 1996 to become heavyweight boxers - and changed the sport forever. After 15 years of reigning in the ring, they made sporting history in 2008: as the first brothers to be world champions at the same time.

But who are these two intelligent gentlemen, PhDs and polyglots, really? Where do they come from and where are they going? Will they keep the promise they made to their mother - never to compete against each other in the ring? Award-winning director Sebastian Dehnhardt followed the Klitschko brothers on their very personal journey, accompanying them all the way to the locker rooms in the minutes before their fights. Previously unpublished archive material and interviews with opponents and companions around the world paint a picture of the two boxers that is as incredible as it is previously unknown.

The documentary depicts her childhood on Soviet military bases, shaped by socialist drill at the height of the Cold War, and the formative impression the Chernobyl nuclear disaster left on her. The film accompanies her throughout her life - all the way to her meteoric rise to the Olympus of boxing.

KLITSCHKO

Vitali and Wladimir Klitschko. Two extraordinary brothers. Icons, role models and heroes of the masses. The two Ukrainian giants came to Germany in 1996 to become heavyweight boxers - and changed the sport forever. After 15 years of reigning in the ring, they made sporting history in 2008: as the first brothers to be world champions at the same time.

Awards

More films

Jahr
2011
Länge
1 x 110'
Genre
Kino-Dokumentarfilm
Format
35mm
Regie
Sebastian Dehnhardt
Vertrieb
Majestic
KLITSCHKO

Vitali und Wladimir Klitschko. Zwei außergewöhnliche Brüder. Ikonen, Vorbilder und Helden der Massen. Die beiden ukrainischen Riesen kamen 1996 nach Deutschland, um Schwergewichtsboxer zu werden – und veränderten den Sport für immer. Nach 15 Jahren Herrschaft im Ring schrieben sie 2008 Sportgeschichte: als erste Brüder, die zur gleichen Zeit Weltmeister waren.

Aber wer sind diese beiden intelligenten Herren, promoviert und polyglott, wirklich? Woher kommen sie und wo gehen sie hin? Werden sie sich an das Versprechen halten, das sie ihrer Mutter gegeben haben – niemals im Ring gegeneinander anzutreten? Der preisgekrönte Regisseur Sebastian Dehnhardt folgte den Klitschko-Brüdern auf ihrem ganz persönlichen Weg, begleitete sie bis in die Umkleidekabinen in den Minuten vor ihren Kämpfen. Bisher unveröffentlichtes Archivmaterial, und Interviews mit Gegnern und Wegbegleitern auf der ganzen Welt zeichnen ein so unglaubliches wie bisher unbekanntes Bild der beiden Boxer.

Die Dokumentation schildert ihre Kindheit auf sowjetischen Militärbasen, geprägt von sozialistischen Drill auf dem Höhepunkt des Kalten Krieges, und den prägenden Eindruck, den die Nuklearkatastrophe von Tschernobyl auf sie hinterließ. Der Film begleitet sie durch ihr ganzes Leben – bis hin zu ihrem kometenhaften Aufstieg in den Olymp des Boxsports.

KLITSCHKO

Vitali und Wladimir Klitschko. Zwei außergewöhnliche Brüder. Ikonen, Vorbilder und Helden der Massen. Die beiden ukrainischen Riesen kamen 1996 nach Deutschland, um Schwergewichtsboxer zu werden – und veränderten den Sport für immer. Nach 15 Jahren Herrschaft im Ring schrieben sie 2008 Sportgeschichte: als erste Brüder, die zur gleichen Zeit Weltmeister waren.

Auszeichnungen

Weitere Filme