Producer
Director
Manfred Oldenburg, Sebastian Dehnhardt, Guido Knopp
Editor
Genre
Sports
Broadcaster
ZDF / arte / OFR / Magyar TV
Length
1 x 90'
Format
16:9 HDTV
Year
2004
The Miracle of Bern
The true story

No other sporting success has ever delighted and surprised the Germans as much as the legendary 3:2 triumph over the highly favoured Hungarians in the World Cup final on 4 July 1954. For many contemporaries, the victory seemed like a fairytale, for some it was even more, the "Miracle of Bern". The film was awarded the German Television Prize in the category Best Documentary in 2004.

On 4 July, millions of Germans waited in front of their radios for the redeeming words of radio reporter Herbert Zimmermann. "Out, out, out. Out. The game is over. Germany is world champion." The myth of the "Heroes of Bern" is quickly born, all Germans feel like world champions, the victory is celebrated as the actual birth of the Federal Republic. But the film does not end with the final whistle, it also shows what has become of the winners and the Hungarian losers. The filmmakers also explore unpleasant topics such as the doping allegations against the German players. Will the myth hold up?

First broadcast: Tuesday, 27 April 2004, 8:15 p.m., ZDF

The Miracle of Bern - The True Story

No other sporting success has ever delighted and surprised the Germans as much as the legendary 3:2 triumph over the highly favoured Hungarians in the World Cup final on 4 July 1954. For many contemporaries, the victory seemed like a fairytale, for some it was even more, the "Miracle of Bern". The film was awarded the German Television Prize in the category Best Documentary in 2004.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Manfred Oldenburg, Sebastian Dehnhardt, Guido Knopp
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Sport
Sender
ZDF / arte / OFR / Magyar TV
Länge
1 x 90'
Editor
Jahr
2004
Das Wunder von Bern
Die wahre Geschichte

Kein anderer Sporterfolg hat die Deutschen jemals so beglückt und überrascht wie der legendäre 3:2 Triumph über die hoch favorisierten Ungarn am 4. Juli 1954 im Endspiel um die Fußballweltmeisterschaft. Der Sieg mutete für viele Zeitgenossen wie ein Märchen an, für manche war es sogar mehr, eben das „Wunder von Bern“. Der Film wurde 2004 mit dem Deutschen Fernsehpreis in der Kategorie Beste Dokumentation ausgezeichnet.

Am 4. Juli warteten Millionen Deutsche vor ihren Radiogeräten auf die erlösenden Worte von Radioreporter Herbert Zimmermann. „Aus, aus, auuus. Aus. Das Spiel ist aus. Deutschland ist Weltmeister.“ Schnell ist der Mythos geboren von den „Helden von Bern“, alle Deutschen fühlen sich als Weltmeister, der Sieg wird gefeiert als die eigentliche Geburtsstunde der Bundesrepublik. Doch der Film endet nicht mit dem Schlusspfiff, sondern zeigt auch, was aus den Siegern und den ungarischen Verlierern geworden ist. Auch unangenehmen Themen wie den Doping-Vorwürfen gegen die deutschen Spieler gehen die Filmemacher nach. Wird der Mythos standhalten?

Erstausstrahlung: Di., 27. April 2004, 20:15 Uhr, ZDF

Das Wunder von Bern – Die wahre Geschichte

Kein anderer Sporterfolg hat die Deutschen jemals so beglückt und überrascht wie der legendäre 3:2 Triumph über die hoch favorisierten Ungarn am 4. Juli 1954 im Endspiel um die Fußballweltmeisterschaft. Der Sieg mutete für viele Zeitgenossen wie ein Märchen an, für manche war es sogar mehr, eben das „Wunder von Bern“. Der Film wurde 2004 mit dem Deutschen Fernsehpreis in der Kategorie Beste Dokumentation ausgezeichnet.

Weitere Filme