Producer
Director
Simone Schillinger
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Dynasties
Broadcaster
WDR
Length
1 x 45'
Editor
Year
2018
Dynasties in NRW
Welterfolg mit Eierlikör – Die Verpoortens

Egg, egg, egg, Verpoorten - this catchy tune still works today. Almost everyone knows it and can hum along. The drink that everyone associates with it brings back memories for many. A brand and the success story of an entrepreneurial family - Verpoorten.

The development of the farm is closely linked to the course of Germany's history. Time and again, political changes have led to sometimes risky decisions. In the documentary, brothers William and Dirk Verpoorten take viewers on a journey through time: Starting at the Lower Rhine, via Berlin, which was full of vices in the "Golden Twenties", to Lower Bavaria. There, the grandmother of the two had raised a factory on her own during the war years. At a time when eggs were in absolute short supply. This laid the foundation for the triumphant advance of egg liqueur in the Federal Republic. And it is no coincidence that Verpoorten moved to the place that stands for the economic miracle like no other: the federal capital Bonn. Today, the great-great-grandchildren of the dynasty's founder face a daunting task: the contemporary marketing of a drink that has remained virtually unchanged over the past 150 years and is the core of their success: eggnog.

First broadcast: Fri., 02 November 2018, 20:15, WDR.

 

Dynasties in NRW: World success with egg liqueur - The Verpoortens

Egg, egg, egg, Verpoorten - this catchy tune still works today. Almost everyone knows it and can hum along. The drink that everyone associates with it brings back memories for many. A brand and the success story of an entrepreneurial family - Verpoorten.

More films

Produzent
Regie
Simone Schillinger
Producer
16:9 HDTV
Genre
Dynastien
Sender
WDR
Länge
1 x 45'
Editor
Jahr
2018
Dynastien in NRW
Welterfolg mit Eierlikör – Die Verpoortens

Ei, ei, ei, Verpoorten – dieser Ohrwurm funktioniert bis heute. Fast jeder kennt ihn und kann mitsummen. Das Getränk, das alle damit verbinden, weckt bei vielen Erinnerungen. Eine Marke und die Erfolgsgeschichte einer Unternehmerfamilie – Verpoorten.

Die Entwicklung des Betriebs ist eng verknüpft mit dem Verlauf der Geschichte Deutschlands. Immer wieder haben politische Veränderungen zu teilweise riskanten Entscheidungen geführt. In der Dokumentation nehmen die Brüder William und Dirk Verpoorten die Zuschauer mit auf eine Zeitreise: Mit dem Start am Niederrhein über das in den „Goldenen Zwanzigern“ lasterhafte Berlin bis nach Niederbayern. Dort hatte die Großmutter der beiden in den Kriegsjahren alleine eine Fabrik aufgezogen. In einer Zeit, in der Eier absolute Mangelware waren. Damit ist der Grundstein für den Siegeszug des Eierlikörs in der Bundesrepublik gelegt. Und es ist kein Zufall, dass Verpoorten an den Ort gezogen ist, der wie kaum ein zweiter für die Wirtschaftswunderzeit steht: die Bundeshauptstadt Bonn. Heute stehen die Ur-Ur-Enkel des Dynastie-Gründers vor einer gewaltigen Aufgabe: Die zeitgemäße Vermarktung eines Getränks, das in den letzten 150 Jahre nahezu unverändert blieb und der Kern ihres Erfolgs ist: der Eierlikör.

Erstausstrahlung: Fr., 02. November 2018, 20:15 Uhr, WDR.

 

Dynastien in NRW: Welterfolg mit Eierlikör – Die Verpoortens

Ei, ei, ei, Verpoorten – dieser Ohrwurm funktioniert bis heute. Fast jeder kennt ihn und kann mitsummen. Das Getränk, das alle damit verbinden, weckt bei vielen Erinnerungen. Eine Marke und die Erfolgsgeschichte einer Unternehmerfamilie – Verpoorten.

Weitere Filme