Producer
Leopold Hoesch
Director
Julia Melchior
Producer
Britta Luckas, Felix Gottschalk
Genre
Royalty
Broadcaster
ZDF
Length
43'
Editor
Lars Roland
Year
2022
The Queen’s Power
Sweden’s Strong Women

Queen Silvia is an icon, Crown Princess Victoria a superstar. Mother and daughter ensure glamour and good news. Permanent publicity and a life determined by others are the price. Would the monarchy in Sweden have any future at all without them? The film by royal house expert Julia Melchior takes a look at the role of the strong women in one of the most popular royal houses in Europe.

Royals have no power, but they do have influence. Even Queen Silvia, as wife of the reigning king, is in the proper meaning of the word only the "King's Wife". There is no job description for First Ladies but representing is generally expected. Queen Silvia instead has filled her role with a mission. She breaks taboos to give a voice to the weakest in society. She saves dicey situations with diplomatic skill. And with courage and poise she also masters challenges within the family.

Silvia always understands herself as a working mother. Her job: Queen! For this self-image, she is considered a pioneer in the royal scene. She paved the way for her daughter Victoria. Today, Crown Princess Victoria is Sweden's most popular person. Daniel and the children are part of her success. They are a couple with a modern understanding of their roles. She has the top job, he remains in the background. In the model country for equality, this works very well. Even opponents of the monarchy in the Kingdom of Sweden are fans of Victoria.

Rich in anecdotes, the film delves into the roles of Queen Silvia and Crown Princess Victoria. Exclusive footage of the royal family and interviews with family and companions provide unusually personal insights into the lives of Sweden's strong women.

More films

Produzent
Leopold Hoesch
Regie
Julia Melchior
Producer
Britta Luckas, Felix Gottschalk
Genre
Royals
Sender
ZDF
Länge
43'
Editor
Lars Roland
Jahr
2022
Die Kraft der Königin
Schwedens starke Frauen

Königin Silvia ist eine Ikone, Kronprinzessin Victoria ein Superstar. Mutter und Tochter sorgen für Glanz und gute Nachrichten. Permanente Öffentlichkeit und ein fremdbestimmtes Leben sind der Preis. Hätte die Monarchie in Schweden ohne sie überhaupt eine Zukunft? Der Film von Königshausexpertin Julia Melchior blickt auf die Rolle der starken Frauen in einem der populärsten Königshäuser Europas.

Royals haben keine Macht, aber Einfluss. Auch Königin Silvia ist als Frau des regierenden Königs strenggenommen nur die „Königsgemahlin“. Eine Berufsbeschreibung gibt es für First Ladies nicht, Repräsentieren wird gemeinhin erwartet. Königin Silvia aber hat ihre Rolle mit einer Mission gefüllt. Sie bricht Tabus, um den Schwächsten der Gesellschaft eine Stimme zu geben. Mit diplomatischem Geschick rettet sie manch brenzlige Situation. Und mit Mut und Haltung meistert sie auch innerfamiliäre Herausforderungen.

Silvia sah sich stets als berufstätige Mutter. Ihr Job: Königin! Für dieses Selbstverständnis gilt sie als Vorreiterin in der Royal-Szene. Ihrer Tochter Victoria hat sie den Weg gebahnt. Heute ist Kronprinzessin Victoria die populärste Person Schwedens. Daniel und die Kinder sind Teil ihres Erfolgs. Ein Paar mit modernem Rollenverständnis. Sie hat den Top-Job, er hat das Nachsehen. Im Vorzeigeland für Gleichstellung kommt das gut an. Selbst Monarchiegegner im Königreich Schweden sind Fans von Victoria.

Anekdotenreich taucht der Film ein in die Rolle von Königin Silvia und Kronprinzessin Victoria. Exklusive Aufnahmen von der Königsfamilie und Interviews mit Familie und Wegbegleitern gewähren ungewöhnlich persönliche Einblicke in das Leben von Schwedens starken Frauen.

Weitere Filme