Producer
Director
Annebeth Jacobsen, Manfred Oldenburg
Producer
Leopold Hoesch
Genre
Biography
Broadcaster
ZDF
Length
1 x 43'
Editor
Year
2020
Germany’s Great Clans
The Joop-Story

Wolfgang Joop and his daughter, Jette, are amongst Germany's most important designers. Both regularly make headlines. Wolfgang: the "wunderkind", the fashion genius, the artist. No matter what he does, he both fascinates and polarizes in equal measure. Jette carries her name tot he world of business with entrepreneurial flair and clever calculations. She makes millions with her designs, whether in jewellery, fashion or simply household goods. On the red carpet, she presents herself as a femme fatale to strengthen her brand. "The public sphere is my destiny", she says.

Father and daughter - two strong characters that are constantly clashing with one another. Yet they are united by their creativity and by the daring to reinvent themselves over and over again. The future will reveal whether the Joops will remain a design dynasty, whether it will continue in the third generation - and whether father and daughter can make amends once and for all.

In the film, Wolfgang Joop himself and renowned experts are joined by long-term companions, who rarely provide insights into the life of the designer family, such as Wolfgang's husband, Edwin Lemberg or his ex-wife, Karin Joop-Metz.

More films

Jahr
2020
Länge
1 x 43'
Genre
Biografie
Produzent
Leopold Hoesch
Regie
Annebeth Jacobsen und Manfred Oldenburg
Sender
ZDF
Deutschlands große Clans
Die Joop-Story

Wolfgang Joop und seine Tochter Jette gehören zu Deutschlands bedeutendsten Designern. Beide machen regelmäßig Schlagzeilen. Wolfgang: der ewige Junge, das „Wunderkind“, das Mode-Genie, der Künstler. Egal, was er anstellt, er fasziniert und polarisiert gleichermaßen. Jette trägt ihren Namen mit Geschäftssinn und cleverem Kalkül zu Markte. Mit ihren Designs macht sie Millionen, ob mit Schmuck, Mode oder schlicht Haushaltswaren. Auf dem roten Teppich inszeniert sie sich als Femme fatale, um ihre Marke zu stärken. „Öffentlichkeit ist mein Schicksal“, sagt sie.

Vater und Tochter – zwei starke Charaktere, die sich immer wieder aneinander reiben. Doch sie eint ihre Kreativität und der Wagemut, sich immer wieder neu zu erfinden. Die Zukunft wird zeigen, ob die Joops eine Design-Dynastie bleiben, ob es in der dritten Generation weitergeht – und ob Vater und Tochter endgültig Frieden schließen können.

Im Film kommen neben Joop selbst und namhaften Expertinnen auch Wegbegleiter zu Wort, die nur selten Einblicke in das Leben der Designerfamilie geben, wie Wolfgangs Ehemann Edwin Lemberg oder seine Ex-Ehefrau Karin Joop-Metz.

Weitere Filme